"Open Drawing, Previous Versions AEC Objects Detected" popup- What to do???

CADchallenged

Hi, brand new here and will ask a lot of dumb questions!!! I am a Hospitality interior designer and sometimes I get DWG plans from architects and upon first opening I get this pop up that tells me "the drawing was last saved in an earlier version of the software" and then tells me "saving the drawing will update any AEC objects in it to the current version, which will be incompatible with earlier versions." Okay....what the heck does that really mean? I have to open it and "save as" which will result in incompatibility; right? I usually ignore this pop up as I didn't understand it and wanted it to just go away. I have found on past projects with many DWG file sharings, I was not able to use some commands like fillet and stretch which I use a lot. I was also not able to copy and paste objects from one DWG file to another. I got "select insertion point" instead of them appearing like before. Not sure if this is all affected by the AEC objects or if that is another issue altogether....

Anyway, I would like more explanation in LAYMAN'S terms please on what I should do and how it affects my drawings and back and forth sharing with client's and architects. I am not a "strong" CAD designer and have found I have made a lot of bad habits over the past 8 years. Now that I am on my own, I want to correct these habits and really understand what I am doing.

Using AutoCAD Architecture 2012. Looking forward to your responses; thank you!

When you go to do a save as, you can select saving to a prior version(s) level in the Save As..dialog, Files of Type dropdown list. Caution, two dwg files with the same name will overwrite each other even though they are different release versions.