Visual Basic vs Visual Basic.net??

j_spawn_h

Visual Basic for Applications (VBA) is an ActiveX COM API language, whereas Visual Basic (VB) is one of multiple .NET API languages... VBA cannot directly access the .NET API, whereas .NET can directly access COM through early/late-binding, or dynamics (for newer .NET Frameworks).

Given available functionality, and that both languages require code compiling, I'd personally recommend you opt for .NET - note that I didn't specify which language - .NET API is not only more capable, but also requires a much more capable IDE in Visual Studio, etc. that VBA's IDE cannot even attempt to compare.

If you really want to learn VBA, do so, just keep in mind that you're ultimately limiting your capability.

As for where to go for classes, that's a tough one... I'm an odd combination of self taught, with occasional guidance from the many that mentor us who are struggling to learn... I'm not that smart, so if I can do it.... :beer:

Cheers

If you are only wanting to program for AutoCAD and nothing more, then VBA is simpler and you can do most things with it. But then another question is, for which version of AutoCAD are wanting to program? In AutoCAD 2014 the VBA engine VB7.1 was brought in which is not fully compatible with the earlier VB6 VBA engine. So some programs might not work on certain versions of AutoCAD. But .NET will work on all versions of AutoCAD.

If you intend learning to program for a wider scope than just AutoCAD then I would definitely go down the .NET road and learn one of those languages. If you cannot already program in a Basic language I would recommend you learning C#. There are far more examples freely available on the web than for VB.NET. You are the only one who can decide on which language you learn, based on your own experience and what you want to achieve.