+ Reply to Thread
Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 4 5 6
Results 51 to 56 of 56
  1. #51
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,161

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I'm sorry, Dana you are absolutely wrong on this and I am sorry that I cannot convince you otherwise. I asked that you keep AutoCAD out of the discussion because how it works in AutoCAD confuses the real world definition of a ratio. They have been around in since before AutoCAD. A scale of 1:20 in the title block does not need units because it doesn't matter which ones you use to measure the paper. The measurement you are trying to get is going to be 20 times more than what you measure. If you make the assumption that the 1 is inches and the 20 is feet, you are wrong. It does not mean the same thing as 1"=20'. If you remove the units from 1"=20', that ratio becomes 1:240 and again, it doesn't matter what you measure the paper with, the result will be 240 times the measurement.

    There is no argument that can prove otherwise. This is simple stuff and AutoCAD has confused you.
    Drafting is a breeze.

  2. #52
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,161

    Default

    BTW, any time you can get a table that pays out the same as the chances of winning, the casino is not making anything on that table. Maybe I didn't explain the scenario clearly enough. The payout is usually less than the odds.
    Drafting is a breeze.

  3. #53
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,675

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RobDraw View Post
    I'm sorry, Dana you are absolutely wrong on this and I am sorry that I cannot convince you otherwise. I asked that you keep AutoCAD out of the discussion because how it works in AutoCAD confuses the real world definition of a ratio. They have been around in since before AutoCAD. A scale of 1:20 in the title block does not need units because it doesn't matter which ones you use to measure the paper. The measurement you are trying to get is going to be 20 times more than what you measure. If you make the assumption that the 1 is inches and the 20 is feet, you are wrong. It does not mean the same thing as 1"=20'. If you remove the units from 1"=20', that ratio becomes 1:240 and again, it doesn't matter what you measure the paper with, the result will be 240 times the measurement.

    There is no argument that can prove otherwise. This is simple stuff and AutoCAD has confused you.
    I don't do casino games and I only gamble on a lottery ticket once in a while, so I don't understand gambler phraseology, nor odds except that I know the lottery odds are somewhere north of 1:A snowball's chance. I think we are saying exactly the same thing, in fact. But, you may be misunderstanding the way I am putting it. I started my point with AutoCad, and I'm staying there. Somewhere you got the impression I am steadfastly stating that 1:20 is the same thing as 1"=20'. I know it's not, because you can stick any old values behind the 1:20. It is just that when one uses the 1:20 scale ratio applied to inches and feet, it is exactly the same as 1"=20'.

    Anyway, I'll take another wild guess and say that maybe the OP's issue might stem from a metric template, and disassociating dimensions, at least the latter. Then again we may have already eliminated those. I lost track.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  4. #54
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    albroswift's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    W8 point (Ugh...) one
    Computer:
    Asus X Factor Laptop
    CPU:
    Intel I7
    RAM:
    8 GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce 1Gb
    Primary Storage:
    1TB
    Secondary Storage:
    1TB
    Discipline
    Construction
    albroswift's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Construction Supervision and Shop Drawings
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    34

    Default

    Hello, All
    This stills seem like a current thread I've been following and I don't see an answer to the OP.
    Out of curiosity I opened up the file and moved a few dimensions and as the OP said, the dimension changes by a factor of 75, SOMETIMES.
    I had this happen a while back and messed around with some settings, deleted the offending VP, fixed but not exactly sure what the real problem was. I use a lot of other peoples drawings to create shop drawings (mostly architects that know way waay way more about ACAD then I) so I am always running up against strange and wonderful ways to skin the cat and assumed it was some special setting the original drafter had left behind just for me.
    So, back to the OP, did anyone figure out what causes this behavior?
    Thanks--
    Al

  5. #55
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,161

    Default

    You might be on to something seeing that replacing the viewport fixed it for you. I'm just not sure what. I was trying to find something different about the dimensions that were changing or something amiss with the OSNAPs.
    Drafting is a breeze.

  6. #56
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,675

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I don't have an idea why replacing the viewport might have fixed the issue, unless it just cleared out the proper areas in the .dwg file and re-did the data from scratch.

    How the OP got there may have something to do with the fact that Non-associative paper space dimensions DO NOT WORK without a manually applied dim scale linear factor that negates the viewport scale.

    AutoCad does this automatically for associative dimensions. Also, the dimensions in the drawing are not in a clearly defined dimension style, but highly manipulated, through overrides, versions of the default Standard style.

    It seems that the negative sign on the dim scale factor is getting lost somehow while AutoCad tries to keep up with the manipulation and re-positioning of the text or dimension/extension lines. The result is a distance that is getting scaled up twice by the same factor.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

Similar Threads

  1. Vba Macro : automatic create Squaring and cartouche (Sheet)
    By zadboda in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 3rd Dec 2008, 03:03 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts