+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 56
  1. #11
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,506

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    "Paperspace dimensions are rife with quicksand."

    Only if the user doesn't know what he is doing in the first place or 1) he fails to use OSnaps during dimensioning, 2) fails to enable the "associative" property of dimensions, 3) is attempting to dimension a 3D model that is displayed in Conceptual or Realistic visual style thus leaving himself open to the possibility that AutoCAD will pick the wrong geometry. We do all our dimensioning and text in our layouts not in model space and have had no problems since adopting this method several years ago.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  2. #12
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,506

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ilarson007 View Post


    In the properties window.
    Is DIMASSOC set to a value of 2?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #13
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    Is DIMASSOC set to a value of 2?
    It is set to 1

  4. #14
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,506

    Default

    A setting of 1 create non-associative dimensions while a setting of 2 creates associative dimensions. That might explain the problem.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #15
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,717

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    "Paperspace dimensions are rife with quicksand."

    Only if the user doesn't know what he is doing in the first place or 1) he fails to use OSnaps during dimensioning, 2) fails to enable the "associative" property of dimensions, 3) is attempting to dimension a 3D model that is displayed in Conceptual or Realistic visual style thus leaving himself open to the possibility that AutoCAD will pick the wrong geometry. We do all our dimensioning and text in our layouts not in model space and have had no problems since adopting this method several years ago.
    You just did a pretty good job of describing the quicksand to a "T".

    I don't have a huge amount of problems with paperspace dimensions, but occasionally I will see some unexplained loss of associations when I move or stretch a modelspace object.

    More often than not, if a paperspace (or otherwise) dimension fails to stay associated to the modelspace objects, it's because I was a little hasty in setting the node down and missed the osnap point by a thou or so, but I have not found yet a node floating in space when the above happens. I have gone as far as checking the .bak file to see what it looked like before the editing.

    I only do paperspace dimensions for one single client. Everyone else is satisfied with annotative modelspace dimensions.

    Also, every angular dimension that needs the text moved out of a tight spot suddenly decides to measure paperspace once the text starts moving. The nodes do not move, just the text, and then it can't be fixed without replacing it.

    All of that sounds like loss of associativity, but how and why, I cannot determine.
    Last edited by Dana W; 23rd Sep 2014 at 02:31 am.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  6. #16
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,506

    Default

    If I encountered a user with that problem, on a consistent basis, I'd say it was a case of OIE. Someone is not paying attention to what they are doing.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  7. #17
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,169

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ilarson007 View Post
    Yeah, the only other options were 1:50 and 1:100. Neither worked....
    Unless I am mistaken, 1:75 is not found on standard metric architectural scales. What if someone wants to verify a dimension that is not noted? Are you going to provide a hard to find scale with your drawings so that they can take a measurement?
    Drafting is a breeze.

  8. #18
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,717

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RobDraw View Post
    Unless I am mistaken, 1:75 is not found on standard metric architectural scales. What if someone wants to verify a dimension that is not noted? Are you going to provide a hard to find scale with your drawings so that they can take a measurement?
    Neither is it on a standard Engineering Imperial scale.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  9. #19
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,169

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dana W View Post
    Neither is it on a standard Engineering Imperial scale.
    Why would it be? Engineering scales are inches = feet not a ratio ( : ) like metric scales.
    Drafting is a breeze.

  10. #20
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,717

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    If I encountered a user with that problem, on a consistent basis, I'd say it was a case of OIE. Someone is not paying attention to what they are doing.
    Yeah. me too but as far as I can tell I exhausted that possibility. It is not all that regular that I see the stuff described. Most recently, it occurred in a drawing that I did for Universal at Diagon Alley so I may just write it off as having to deal with wizards, goblins, and muggles. The contractor I did that work for is the only one I have to do paperspace dimensions for anyway.

    At first, I thought I was simply stacking dimension nodes on each other instead of the object snap, so I turned node snap off and re-did them. Then, I increased the size of all my snappy tool symbols so my ancient eyes could see better which one I was actually snapping to, and found no surprises there either. >>> shrug <<<

    Maybe AutoCad knows I prefer not to use paperspace dims and is just having an ego fit.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

Similar Threads

  1. Vba Macro : automatic create Squaring and cartouche (Sheet)
    By zadboda in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 3rd Dec 2008, 03:03 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts