+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Senior Member yrnomad's Avatar
    Computer Details
    yrnomad's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10 - 64 bit
    Computer:
    HP Z220
    CPU:
    Intel core I7 3.4GHz
    RAM:
    16 GB
    Graphics:
    nVidia GeForce 9600 GT w/dual monitor output
    Primary Storage:
    1 tb SATA
    Monitor:
    (2) 22" Acer LCD
    Discipline
    Electrical
    yrnomad's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Drafting/Design Electrical contractor's shop
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Vancouver, WA - USA
    Posts
    147

    Default Trying to switch families

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I have a series of panels (Panelboard [PE]) that I'm trying to change to a different a newer panel family [E_EQPM_Panelboards], which has better label and clearance options.

    I have both in the same room, but when I pick Panel 2C11, which is the old family and do the dropdown in the properties box, I don't have that newer family as an option to choose.

    Anybody now why, or a workaround?

  2. #2
    Senior Member yrnomad's Avatar
    Computer Details
    yrnomad's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10 - 64 bit
    Computer:
    HP Z220
    CPU:
    Intel core I7 3.4GHz
    RAM:
    16 GB
    Graphics:
    nVidia GeForce 9600 GT w/dual monitor output
    Primary Storage:
    1 tb SATA
    Monitor:
    (2) 22" Acer LCD
    Discipline
    Electrical
    yrnomad's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Drafting/Design Electrical contractor's shop
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Vancouver, WA - USA
    Posts
    147

    Default

    As a work around, we've been putting in the new family, then resizing and adjusting the location. I figured there should be a better way that someone would know.

  3. #3
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,040

    Default

    What Category is the Family? They both must be the same to "swap" from the Family Selector in Properties.

    -TZ
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  4. #4
    Senior Member yrnomad's Avatar
    Computer Details
    yrnomad's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10 - 64 bit
    Computer:
    HP Z220
    CPU:
    Intel core I7 3.4GHz
    RAM:
    16 GB
    Graphics:
    nVidia GeForce 9600 GT w/dual monitor output
    Primary Storage:
    1 tb SATA
    Monitor:
    (2) 22" Acer LCD
    Discipline
    Electrical
    yrnomad's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Drafting/Design Electrical contractor's shop
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Vancouver, WA - USA
    Posts
    147

    Default

    They are both under the Electrical Equipment heading if that's what your asking...

    The weird thing is that if I grip a E_EQPM_Panelboards, I can see the Panelboard [PE] in the dropdown list in properties. Just not the other way around, like I want to do.

    Anyway, I've replaced all but one. Saved it just to use as a test to figure this out .
    Attached Images

  5. #5
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,040

    Default

    What other differences are there between the two families? Any hosting types between the two? This would matter also I believe.

    -TZ

    *EDIT*
    Also, it may be the Family properties, such as number of poles, phase, Voltage, etc. depending on if your panel is connecting circuits or not.
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  6. #6
    Senior Member yrnomad's Avatar
    Computer Details
    yrnomad's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10 - 64 bit
    Computer:
    HP Z220
    CPU:
    Intel core I7 3.4GHz
    RAM:
    16 GB
    Graphics:
    nVidia GeForce 9600 GT w/dual monitor output
    Primary Storage:
    1 tb SATA
    Monitor:
    (2) 22" Acer LCD
    Discipline
    Electrical
    yrnomad's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Drafting/Design Electrical contractor's shop
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Vancouver, WA - USA
    Posts
    147

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    TZ,

    I believe the E_EQPM_Panelboards, was created from Panelboard [PE]. I had been thinking it is probably a problem with mapping the parameter information between the two families.

    I've kind of had this happen before with conduit. I've picked my piece of conduit, and for example say it's RMC and I want to change it to PVC, but there is no PVC option in with or without fittings. Sometimes RMC is the only choice.

    Frustrating...

Similar Threads

  1. More revit families
    By kililio in forum Revit Architecture
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 13th Oct 2013, 10:14 pm
  2. About families
    By helpme in forum Revit Architecture
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 24th Apr 2013, 05:56 pm
  3. Revit Families
    By _Anthony in forum Revit General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 15th Feb 2013, 01:27 pm
  4. Revit Families
    By addesigns in forum Revit Architecture
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 14th Feb 2013, 06:30 pm
  5. Creating Families for BIM
    By Bill Tillman in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 30th Jan 2012, 01:07 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts