+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Senior Member tmelancon's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tmelancon's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 7010
    CPU:
    i3-3220 Processor (Quad Core, 3.30GHz)
    RAM:
    8GB
    Graphics:
    HD2500 Graphics
    Primary Storage:
    500GB
    Secondary Storage:
    2TB External Backup
    Monitor:
    Dual Dell 27" Monitors!!
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tmelancon's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Operations/Design
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    CAD Design, CAD Management, Project Management, ISO Drawings, Pressure Vessels, Inspection Reports, Data Analysis, Work Scope Recommendations, Troubleshooting, and anything else the boss needs to maximize efficiency. Also proficient in Electrical Engineering/Lighting Design and LEED Green Energy
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    327

    Angry Problem opening drawings! File Invalid?!?!

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    We are currently using Autocad 2014 and a couple stations using Autocad 2015. For some odd reason lately our drawings are being corrupted somehow. It is quite confusing.

    Say we create a drawing at 8AM and save and print it. Later that day we want to open it to make a revision and when we double click to open the drawing, it doesnt want to open. Almost like the file doesnt exist. I run recovery and it says no errors detected but still doesnt open it. Tried using insert(says invalid), xref(says invalid), etc.. nothing.

    THE ONLY THING THAT WORKS, is I have to logon to our Conference room computer that still has trusty ole AutoCAD 2002 installed and I am able to open it from there. However, the fun doesnt stop there. If I open and save the drawing from that station I am still unable to open from 2014/2015. I have to CTRL+A and copy everything into a "NEW" drawing then save that drawing over the existing one. Only then am I able to open this drawing.

    Am I missing something? Is there anyone else out there experiencing this? Please chime in. Thanks
    It is better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to open your mouth and remove all doubt. -Abraham Lincoln

  2. #2
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,161

    Default

    Something is definitely wrong, if you can open it in 2002 without any errors. Later file formats are not compatible, or at least fully compatible, in 2002.

    Are you saving your drawings as 2002 format? If so, that could be the problem.

    Can you post a sample file exhibiting the behavior?
    Drafting is a breeze.

  3. #3
    Senior Member edwinprakoso's Avatar
    Computer Details
    edwinprakoso's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10 Professional
    Computer:
    Sony Vaio T11
    RAM:
    6 GB
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4000
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    Posts
    345

    Default

    It happens quite often, actually. It looks like older version is better ignoring corrupt file, but newer version is more sensitive. I found this since version 2011.
    WBLOCK or copying the objects like you did seems to be the only fix.
    Edwin Prakoso | www.cad-notes.com

    The work doesn't matter if it's not built

  4. #4
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,161

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Newer versions are more sensitive because they can recognize the problem. It's most likely coming from a feature not available in 2002. WBlocking the drawing in 2002 is a work around, not a solution to the problem. Not being to open a file is not common at all. What if the OP did not have 2002? Recently I've only needed to WBlock an entire drawing maybe once a year.

    Without a file exhibiting the behavior, we can only guess at what the error is. Please post a file.
    Drafting is a breeze.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 13th Aug 2013, 04:57 pm
  2. Problem Opening Drawings
    By richiow in forum AutoCAD Bugs, Error Messages & Quirks
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28th Apr 2009, 04:17 pm
  3. File opening problem
    By P_c in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 37
    Last Post: 27th Nov 2007, 09:57 am
  4. problem with opening drawings
    By happyunited in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 21st Jan 2007, 01:30 pm
  5. DPI PROBLEM FOR OPENING FILE
    By mmakilm in forum Design Software
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 8th Mar 2004, 11:13 am

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts