+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    5

    Default publish PDF - name of PDF's

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    hello
    i'm priting my drafts with PUBLISH to a PDF file
    i'would like to change the name of the PDF : the name would start by the name of the tab and finish by the name of the file
    How can i lmake this possible?
    Phil
    PS : sorry, i need to increase my Acad vocabulary in english which is quite poor yet (i'm working on a French version)

  2. #2
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,675

    Default

    On the publish dialog, click publish options, click the naming line and select "Prompt for name". Then, before the file is saved to the folder, you will see a dialog where you can type in a pdf file name to save it as.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  3. #3
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,161

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by philsogood View Post
    hello
    PS : sorry, i need to increase my Acad vocabulary in english which is quite poor yet (i'm working on a French version)
    You did fine. Better than some who only know English.
    Drafting is a breeze.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,722

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dana W View Post
    On the publish dialog, click publish options, click the naming line and select "Prompt for name". Then, before the file is saved to the folder, you will see a dialog where you can type in a pdf file name to save it as.
    I believe that is opposite of what the OP wants. That would be manually entering the name for each sheet.

    the name would start by the name of the tab and finish by the name of the file
    If you select "Specify Name" it will name the files with no input from user, but, it names them <Drawing File Name>-<Layout Tab Name> and I believe you want <Layout Tab Name>-<Drawing File Name>.

    If the default order is not acceptable, I believe you will need a LISP solution, find another PDF Plotter that allows to set up automatic naming or as Dana W points out, manually enter the names.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  5. #5
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,675

    Default

    Philsogood, (what the h*ll does that mean?) If you had not said something, I'd have never known that English is not your first language. I studied French for 4 years in school, and I still have no clue. Personally, I think that having to learn the French language is why the French people start drinking wine at such a young age.
    Quote Originally Posted by SLW210 View Post
    I believe that is opposite of what the OP wants. That would be manually entering the name for each sheet.
    No, it's manually entering the name for each File, or sheet, depending on the multi-sheet file option. That is the best there is for custom publish(ed) file names without a lisp program, like you said. I didn't see any indication that the process needed to be automated. Of course, me not working in a mass production environment, I don't reflexively think that way.

    (And the whole process is a bit more clearly laid out.)

    Quote Originally Posted by SLW210 View Post
    If you select "Specify Name" it will name the files with no input from user, but, it names them <Drawing File Name>-<Layout Tab Name> and I believe you want <Layout Tab Name>-<Drawing File Name>.

    If the default order is not acceptable, I believe you will need a LISP solution, find another PDF Plotter that allows to set up automatic naming or as Dana W points out, manually enter the names.
    One thing to think about is that putting the layout name first will make the files sort weird in the directory view. If one is keeping many backup copies of these pdf files(which I do), they should sort by Project/Drawing name, then layout name.

    As a sub-contractor, I would not dare ship out a CAD file without also keeping a copy of the pdf file as I submitted, plot stamped with username, time, and date.

    Twice in the last five years, with two different (once only) clients, I have had to prove who changed a dwg file last, so I could get my money for a drawing I did NOT break.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  6. #6
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,161

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dana W View Post
    One thing to think about is that putting the layout name first will make the files sort weird in the directory view.
    Stating the obvious here but that would depend on the layout name. It could be that the OP has already implemented the naming convention and is happy with it. Now, he wants to automate it.

    Aren't there file re-naming utilities that could help with this?
    Drafting is a breeze.

  7. #7
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,675

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RobDraw View Post
    Stating the obvious here but that would depend on the layout name. It could be that the OP has already implemented the naming convention and is happy with it. Now, he wants to automate it.

    Aren't there file re-naming utilities that could help with this?
    Yeah, I am sure it is already set up the way the OP wants it. Just sayin'. You mean the whole world doesn't name the layouts, One, Two, Three, Four, etc.?

    It would help if the OP would mention something about Automation of the process. I never did get that.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  8. #8
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,161

    Default

    It's not stated but inferred from the the fact that he is using publish. Why would he ask about renaming manually?
    Drafting is a breeze.

  9. #9
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    hi
    sorry for being so late to anwer i had differents tasks to do before
    yes my layout are numbers which are the number of the draw 001... 151... with the "indice" of the draw A, B... C2...
    unfortunately i do not know lisp enough to be able to create a program to do a such thing... (i a lisp professional with (command)!! )
    thanks for your advicess
    Phil

Similar Threads

  1. Publish
    By dbroada in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 18th Sep 2009, 08:34 am
  2. Publish
    By Alan Cullen in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 7th May 2008, 10:54 am
  3. Publish
    By Simple153 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 6th Nov 2007, 07:38 pm
  4. how to publish PDF
    By PIAPPLE in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 28th Aug 2007, 06:50 pm
  5. Publish
    By Rhayes in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 28th Jun 2007, 03:09 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts