xref alteration

6tee7

Newbie here,forgive me if this has been answered elsewhere, however, I am trying to alter, unsuccessfully, an xref which has been sent to me.

When I double click on an item I just get that this is a locked file an un able to be edited.

How do I unlock the file so that I can edit it?

Do you still have the drawing open that it is xrefed into? Is the xref in another drawing that someone is working on? Is the xref drawing open in another folder?

Hi Dana,

Thanks for replying.

No I dont have access to the xref drawing other than the copy that was sent to me.

No one else is working on it.

No its not open in another folder.

Dana,

Firstly, let me appologise if I have offended you or done something against protocol. I am the same person with the same problem on a different project.

When I try to "clean up" the xref that has been sent to me I can remove some of the items but not alter the building components. They just all hi-light and I cant edit them.

I have read the link which you posted, however, I am afraid to make any changes to the program because I am scared it may make it even harder than it already is.

I guess I will just have to redraw the arch drawing from a paper copy.

Thanks again for your help

Regards

John

Not offended, it just appeared as though this thread was not legit, maybe that your ID had been hacked or something. It isn't often you see the same person post the same issue, almost exactly one year apart.

Are you attempting to edit the xref from within the main drawing, or do you have the xref open in it's own AutoCad session?

Close the main drawing and open the xref file itself. The xref file can have its own (nested) xrefs, as well.