AutoCAD 3D vs Revit for Structural Plans and Renderings

CheSyn

I have extensive experience with AutoCAD - but I would like to start learning/using Revit. The majority of use would be for residential applications.

From my understanding, Revit is mainly used for floor plans, leaving "space" for building materials, but not placing materials themselves.

A client has asked for a 3D rendering of a proposed deck on his house (for visualization and "instructions"), as well as orthographic 2D plans to submit for permits. I have done this many times with AutoCAD, but was wondering if this was a task Revit could help expediate.

Am I better off layering a 3D AutoCAD drawing with all materials sized and placed appropriately, or is this a task Revit would excel at?

Thank you in advance for any insight and advice.

From my understanding, Revit is mainly used for floor plans, leaving "space" for building materials, but not placing materials themselves.
I don't know where you heard that but it's completely false. You can tie Material to any object you want. Below is a 3D walkthrough that our department created last week, and all the objects and materials were generated in Revit:

Hello Tannar, perhaps I used the wrong terminology. From desrcriptions I've read, Revit will create walls, but will not place studs within walls and drywall on the studs. Closer to my example above, it would not show individual joists. (perhaps your video shows this, but I cannot watch Youtube videos at work)

If this is not correct, does Revit create any advantage over modelling in AutoCAD (ie: time, ease, etc...), specifically pertaining to my needs above?