Unwrapping Surfaces....

greedy86

So....I'm relatively new to 3D modelling.

I've been using AutoCAD for a number of years now and I'm currently working for a Oil and Gas fabrication company.

From time to time we have to produce a profile for cutting tubular pipes. We've software that does the simpler connections - but this one in particular was a little confusing.

So I've attached a screen shot to show you how exactly the clamp goes together....

On the underside of the clamp the tubular is notched in way off the clamp stiffeners.

My question to you is.....if I explode the 3D Solid (of the pipe)....and I manipulate it so I'm only left with the outer diameter of the pipe (showing the notches).....is there anyway I can then unravel/unwrap the surface to get a perfect profile of the pipe?

Your thoughts and views would be greatly appreciated.

King Regards.

Clamp.jpg

• Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• greedy86

• ReMark

• SEANT

• scj

Popular Days

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

I believe there is a program available at black-cad that purports to be able to unwrap a surface. I've never tried it though so I cannot vouch for the validity of that claim.

Ah right I see....I've just been on their website and (i'll be honest) kind of understood it.

Not fully enough to download and install the software they're offering.

I thought there might have been a fairly simple command on CAD that would allow me to do such a thing.

Appriciate the speedy response though.

I believe it can be done in Inventor perhaps even in AutoCAD 360 but again I have no direct experience with either. If I had to pick one of the two I'd pick Inventor.

Are you really using AutoCAD 2004?

Ahh right I see - shame I've no access to inventor.

Thanks for your response - would be interested to hear if anyone knows of an AutoCAD command to carry out this task.