Trimming an object in 3D

sandualex

OK,so I know that you cannot trim an object in 3D,and I already tried SUBTRACT command,but with no use.I need to mention though that I'm no expert in 3D modelling,and I may have missed some things to be able to create the final object.I will attach the way the object needs to look like and what I have accomplished so far.Help would be greatly appreciated !!!

Thanks in advance !!! this is the original subiectul2.dwg

and this is what I have done so far original.jpg

You might want to take another look at your drawing (both the 2D and 3D portions) before proceeding any further.

The 2D top view of the object has Constraints enabled. Was this intentional?

The 2D top view shows a chamfer at the front and back not a fillet (red dashed linework) yet your 3D arch appears to be filleted on the back and chamfered in the front.

The 3D arch does not appear to be square with the base. If you look closely at the right hand side of the arch while in a 2D wireframe visual style you will see what I mean. This could cause you a problem later on.

Subiectul.PNG

This is what I came up with based upon the drawing you provided. I had to make a couple of guesses as you did not provide a dimensioned front view of the object.

I drew one end then mirrored it. I revolved a profile for the arch then added the somewhat rectangular piece that runs through the middle of the arch. I created that piece with an extruded profile. Finally, I joined all the pieces together using the Union command.

Thank you both for the replies,I managed to remove the part I neede by creating a circle,extrude it ,and then subtract from the whole.Thanks a lot and I'll be sure to ask for help here when I need it.

Did you retain the constraints that you had applied?

subiectul_constraints.JPG

Did you fix the geometry on the right hand side of the arch?

subiectul_overlap.jpg

Edited by ReMark