+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    edoll's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 390
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz 3.40 GHz
    RAM:
    32 GB
    Monitor:
    Dual Monitors - An Acer AL2016W and a Acer AL1917W
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2016
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    28

    Unhappy Multileader Styles - Right Attachment Attribute not Carrying Over when Applied in DWG

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I am setting up some architectural Multileader Styles to pull into various drawings as needed from the Designcenter.

    I have created 7 different scales of Multileaders and set their Text "Left and Right Attachments" to "Middle of top line". When I pull the styles into a drawing, the "Left Attachment" is true and is at the middle of the top line. However when I make a right attachment the multileader randomly decides to "Underline top line". I have thought of everything I can to try and fix it in the original file referenced from the designcenter...both attachments say "Middle of top line". I have overwrote the Styles in the file and saved things and closed down things and restarted things. lol I'm at a loss and so any help would be appreciated.

    Along the same lines - for these multileader styles I am creating, how can I get rid of default text? I would like to be able to just click the multileader tool, place it in my drawing, and begin typing - but somehow I cannot get rid of the "Contents" - or - "Default Text" because AutoCAD asks me if I want to overwrite the default text when I place it - in which I would always like to overwrite it so i'd rather have no default text and just be able to type asap. lol

    Thanks,

  2. #2
    Forum Deity
    Computer Details
    nestly's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (64bit)
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    3,444

    Default

    If the drawing already contains a Mleader style with the same name, the existing style won't be overwritten.

    I'm not sure about the attachment issue, but it may be related to above... could you upload a sample drawing.

    The default text can be removed by clicking the ellipsis button [...] to the right of the "Default Text" on the MLeader Style manager Contents tab.

  3. #3
    Luminous Being BlackBox's Avatar
    Computer Details
    BlackBox's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8.1 Professional, Server 2012 R2 Datacenter
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T3600
    CPU:
    Hex-Core Intel Xeon 3.2Ghz
    RAM:
    32GB
    Graphics:
    3GB NVIDIA Quadro K4000
    Primary Storage:
    2 x 240GB Samsung EVO SSD (RAID 0)
    Secondary Storage:
    1TB Western Digital VelociRaptor 10K RPM
    Monitor:
    Dual 24" Dell Ultrasharp Widescreen Monitors
    Discipline
    Civil
    BlackBox's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Senior Civil Designer
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Public/Private Land Development, Transportation, and Utilities.
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    5,282

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nestly View Post
    If the drawing already contains a Mleader style with the same name, the existing style won't be overwritten.
    1+ .... This was my first thought as well, given the OP's 'pulling in' the MLeader Styles.
    "Potential has a shelf life." - Margaret Atwood
    AutoCAD, and Civil 3D Certified Professional | Autodesk Authorized Developer
    Sincpac C3D ~ Exchange Apps ~ Autoloader ~ AutoCAD Security

  4. #4
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    edoll's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 390
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz 3.40 GHz
    RAM:
    32 GB
    Monitor:
    Dual Monitors - An Acer AL2016W and a Acer AL1917W
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2016
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    28

    Default

    Okay, so I now have the Mleader styles working properly after renaming them and purging the old ones. This also solved the attachment issue. Thanks!

    On another note, I should have explained the "default text thing a little more clearly. I have clicked the [...] and it takes me to my text line where, yes, I can delete the text but when I click out of the text to save it, the text just reappears...

    Is it possible to have Mleader Styles with no text so you can just type a new text from scratch everytime?

  5. #5
    Luminous Being BlackBox's Avatar
    Computer Details
    BlackBox's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8.1 Professional, Server 2012 R2 Datacenter
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T3600
    CPU:
    Hex-Core Intel Xeon 3.2Ghz
    RAM:
    32GB
    Graphics:
    3GB NVIDIA Quadro K4000
    Primary Storage:
    2 x 240GB Samsung EVO SSD (RAID 0)
    Secondary Storage:
    1TB Western Digital VelociRaptor 10K RPM
    Monitor:
    Dual 24" Dell Ultrasharp Widescreen Monitors
    Discipline
    Civil
    BlackBox's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Senior Civil Designer
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Public/Private Land Development, Transportation, and Utilities.
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    5,282

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by edoll View Post
    Okay, so I now have the Mleader styles working properly after renaming them and purging the old ones....
    Glad you got it sorted.

    If you rename things often (i.e., usually for 3rd party drawing, etc.), you might find my Right Click Rename app to be of use.



    Quote Originally Posted by edoll View Post
    Is it possible to have Mleader Styles with no text so you can just type a new text from scratch everytime?
    With the needed styles already in the drawing, I simply use the MLEADER Command which prompts for text when adding the MLeader to the drawing (no default text specified).

    Cheers
    "Potential has a shelf life." - Margaret Atwood
    AutoCAD, and Civil 3D Certified Professional | Autodesk Authorized Developer
    Sincpac C3D ~ Exchange Apps ~ Autoloader ~ AutoCAD Security

  6. #6
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    edoll's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 390
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz 3.40 GHz
    RAM:
    32 GB
    Monitor:
    Dual Monitors - An Acer AL2016W and a Acer AL1917W
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2016
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    28

    Default

    Thanks BlackBox. I would share a screen shot if i knew how, because I am still unable to remove the "content" (default text) of my Multileader style. I click the three dots and remove the text and click away - hoping it will remember that I don't want any "default text" and it just comes right back.

    I use the MLEADER command just as you say, pick leader and landing locations, and then - instead of being able to type what I want - it asks if I want to overwrite the default text. I know this is probably redundant and annoying by now - but there has got to be a way to remove the default text so the MLEADER command performs as it does with ACAD's "Standard" Multileader style.

    if you have an email address - i'd be happy to show you a screen shot i took.

    Thanks,

  7. #7
    Luminous Being BlackBox's Avatar
    Computer Details
    BlackBox's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8.1 Professional, Server 2012 R2 Datacenter
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T3600
    CPU:
    Hex-Core Intel Xeon 3.2Ghz
    RAM:
    32GB
    Graphics:
    3GB NVIDIA Quadro K4000
    Primary Storage:
    2 x 240GB Samsung EVO SSD (RAID 0)
    Secondary Storage:
    1TB Western Digital VelociRaptor 10K RPM
    Monitor:
    Dual 24" Dell Ultrasharp Widescreen Monitors
    Discipline
    Civil
    BlackBox's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Senior Civil Designer
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Public/Private Land Development, Transportation, and Utilities.
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    5,282

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by edoll View Post
    I would share a screen shot if i knew how....
    That may be a minimum post count issue - if memory serves somewhere after 20 posts, you get some new forum features.



    Quote Originally Posted by edoll View Post
    ... I am still unable to remove the "content" (default text) of my Multileader style. I click the three dots and remove the text and click away - hoping it will remember that I don't want any "default text" and it just comes right back.

    I use the MLEADER command just as you say, pick leader and landing locations, and then - instead of being able to type what I want - it asks if I want to overwrite the default text. I know this is probably redundant and annoying by now - but there has got to be a way to remove the default text so the MLEADER command performs as it does with ACAD's "Standard" Multileader style.
    In the Multileader Style Manager dialog, select the target style and select Modify button. On the Content tab of the Modify Multileader Style dialog, select the Ellipse [...] button, which will launch the text edit window, select all text (i.e., Ctrl+A), hit the Delete button on your keyboard, then left mouse click in space (outside of the text edit window). You should now be returned to the Modify Multileader Style dialog, and the 'Default text' textbox should read 'Default Text' (which means no default text).

    HTH
    "Potential has a shelf life." - Margaret Atwood
    AutoCAD, and Civil 3D Certified Professional | Autodesk Authorized Developer
    Sincpac C3D ~ Exchange Apps ~ Autoloader ~ AutoCAD Security

  8. #8
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    edoll's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 390
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz 3.40 GHz
    RAM:
    32 GB
    Monitor:
    Dual Monitors - An Acer AL2016W and a Acer AL1917W
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2016
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    28

    Default

    Solid Gold BlackBox...solid gold! I'm good to go! I am obviously a beginner and will admit that I did not even think about trying the manager dialog box - thought I could get things done with the properties dialog box only.

    Speaking of 20 minimum posts...

    Thanks for hanging in there with me!

  9. #9
    Luminous Being BlackBox's Avatar
    Computer Details
    BlackBox's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8.1 Professional, Server 2012 R2 Datacenter
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T3600
    CPU:
    Hex-Core Intel Xeon 3.2Ghz
    RAM:
    32GB
    Graphics:
    3GB NVIDIA Quadro K4000
    Primary Storage:
    2 x 240GB Samsung EVO SSD (RAID 0)
    Secondary Storage:
    1TB Western Digital VelociRaptor 10K RPM
    Monitor:
    Dual 24" Dell Ultrasharp Widescreen Monitors
    Discipline
    Civil
    BlackBox's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Senior Civil Designer
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Public/Private Land Development, Transportation, and Utilities.
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    5,282

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by edoll View Post
    Solid Gold BlackBox...solid gold! I'm good to go! I am obviously a beginner and will admit that I did not even think about trying the manager dialog box - thought I could get things done with the properties dialog box only.
    No worries, edoll; we all start somewhere... You'll be helping others in no time.


    Quote Originally Posted by edoll View Post
    Speaking of 20 minimum posts...

    Thanks for hanging in there with me!
    Congrats on your 20th post!
    "Potential has a shelf life." - Margaret Atwood
    AutoCAD, and Civil 3D Certified Professional | Autodesk Authorized Developer
    Sincpac C3D ~ Exchange Apps ~ Autoloader ~ AutoCAD Security

  10. #10
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,821

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by BlackBox View Post
    That may be a minimum post count issue - if memory serves somewhere after 20 posts, you get some new forum features.
    The only issue for new members (<10 posts) would be Instant Messaging, everything else works fine, external links will need approval.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



Similar Threads

  1. CopyText.lsp: Copy/Swap Text/MText/Multileader/Attribute Values
    By alanjt in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 78
    Last Post: 9th Mar 2016, 06:09 pm
  2. Modify Multileader Styles: Custom Content Block: LOCATION
    By CivilPrice in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 26th Jun 2013, 12:21 am
  3. Multileader That Inserts An Attribute From A Block
    By rod_smithsr in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10th Jan 2012, 08:37 pm
  4. Autocad 2008 - Multileader Text Styles
    By nycadguy in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 11th Dec 2008, 07:50 pm
  5. Standard Multileader Styles
    By sag in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 5th Sep 2007, 07:03 am

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts