Creating a drawing register in Excel using automation and AutoCAD title block

grahamd_41

This seems to be a very widely asked question with many people wanting different solutions. After several days of searching I find myself asking the question here.

I work for a small electrical design company. We work with many AutoCAD drawings which require transmittal back and forth to customers. With each set of drawings that we send, we send a document listing all the drawings (a drawing register). This is pretty common practice.

Currently we have to manually input the drawing numbers, titles, revision numbers etc. in to an Excel spreadsheet template. What I would like to do is semi-automate this process, preferably using Excel's VBA, or at a later date MS Access.

I have some experience in using VBA, accessing other xls files on the server and collating information, but have never used it to access an AutoCAD dwg file.

In short, what I have/want to do is as follows:

• I have an Excel template that lists will list all the drawings for transmittal.
  • I have hundreds of AutoCAD drawings which contain a title block with the following attributes: Drawing_number, Title_1, Title_2, Title_3, Revision (and more, but these are the main required attributes for the drawing register)
  • I want to run the excel file, select (through the use of a browse file command, which I am familiar with) the drawings I wish to add to the list, extract the information contained in the above attributes, write this information to my desired cells in the drawing register.

I am fairly competent at programming and trained in C, C#, C++ at university (a few years ago) so my understanding is okay. I am just struggling with acquiring the code to access AutoCAD attributes. My understanding is that I need to use a library to prevent me opening AutoCAD each time I read a file, but again I'm unsure of how to do this.