Threaded holes

Wilsy_71uk

HI all

I am new to 3d Autocad and I'm having difficulty with a feature. I am wanting to draw threaded holes in a solid which I have managed to achieve but when I use the Drawing views feature I get the full threaded detail (which looks great but becomes a black blob when viewed aat a small scale). What I actually want is the 2d representation of a threaded hole. I found the setting dialogue box as in the screen shot but it hasn't helped me.

Untitled-1.jpg

My guess is that I am drawing the hole wrong in the first place and I need to draw it in a certain way so that the auto-created drawing views and sections represents my hole correctly.

Can anyone please help this 3D novice?

Thanks

It seems odd that you would go through all the trouble of creating a 3D threaded hole but want it to appear as a simplified 2D representation. Eliminate the threads.

@ Wilsy, As far as I know, there's really no way to get around it other than perhaps using a solid hatch/wipeout in the Drawing View(s) to cover up the unwanted linework in the Views where you don't want/need all the thread detail.

I'm creating the threaded hole completely as I don't know of any other way to represent them in 3D modelling. I do actually want to simplify things.

If I was drawing them in 2d then I would just use the two dimensional representation I was taught back in the days of pencil and paper. I don't know how to draw a threaded hole in 3d without giving the full detail.

My problem is that when I use the automated drawing views these holes appear as just black blobs when viewed at small scale or at the very least looks very busy. I want to draw a hole in a 3d solid so that when viewed in the automated drawing views it gives me the standard 2d representation.

Hope this helpsUntitled-2.jpg

If you don't want the detail then leave it off; just create a hole.

What's so hard to grasp about wanting to show different levels of detail at different scales?

Wilsy,