+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Discipline
    Construction
    dueingx4's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Consultant @ Crown C Supply
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Posts
    22

    Default Simple question, so apologies if it's too simple!

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I have CAD files I want to take home on a thumb drive. When I get home and open up any folder with an xref in it, the xref does not show up. When I try to alter the path, it goes back to looking for the folder where the file is located at my office.


    Anybody have thoughts on this one?


    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,506

    Default

    You should have used the eTransmit command.

    Package and deliver groups of drawings and related and supporting files in electronic transmittal packages. Packages can be created as:
    1) a file folder
    2) ZIP file
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Discipline
    Construction
    dueingx4's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Consultant @ Crown C Supply
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Posts
    22

    Default

    Remark: thanks for the reply so fast! I will execute that command, but curious, can it be for a specific sheet, or does it do the whole directory of drawings?

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,506

    Default

    The ETRANSMIT command pulls together all files that the drawing file depends on.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #5
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,717

    Default

    You could also simply copy the cross referenced file along with the drawing using it, and save them to the same folder on your home computer. AutoCad always looks in the same folder with the drawing first if it does not have a workable path to use.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Discipline
    Construction
    dueingx4's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Consultant @ Crown C Supply
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Posts
    22

    Default

    Dana:


    I copied all files, xref's and sheets, onto my desktop at home in a seperate folder. I'm confused on why AutoCAD could not relocate the xref's as I tried to change the path in the xref box... It seemed like it was not willing to have the original path drive altered, it would go right back to the "T" drive that was at work... sounds like etransmit will work properly, but how will it do when I want to take the files back to the office, will that screw anything up?


    Thanks!

  7. #7
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,717

    Default

    I am not sure what you are saying. Did AutoCad not find the xref file when you opened the drawing, or are you just trying to update the path in the xref manager dialog?

    I recommend saving your autocad files to any other folder rather than the "desktop". All the shortcuts on there can make AutoCad get its knickers in a wad while it is trying to figure out where it is supposed to be looking for stuff.

    AutoCad does not automatically update the saved path for the xref file. As long as the program can find the xref when the drawing is opened (ie. both in the same folder) then leave the saved path the way it was so you don't have to change it when you take the drawing back to work.

    I don't update my saved path unless I have to. I caught a lot of snot from the Drafting Project manager once when I had to use my daughter's laptop as a backup work machine. Her somewhat off color user name did not sit well with that guy at all when it showed up in the plot stamp.

    Anyway, to update the saved path, open the xref manager dialog and click on the xref name in the file list, then click on the saved path line in the details area, then either navigate to the xref file location by hitting the browse button at the end of that line, or by manually typing in the path.
    Last edited by Dana W; 1st Jan 2015 at 04:24 pm.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  8. #8
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    10,176

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dueingx4 View Post
    I copied all files, xref's and sheets, onto my desktop at home in a seperate folder. I'm confused on why AutoCAD could not relocate the xref's
    This is why Etransmit is such a great tool. It not only bundles up your drawing and all associated xrefs and image files, but it also grabs all fonts used in the drawing, plot styles and pretty much everything you need in order for your drawing to work on any computer you put it on. And it's all automatic and takes only a few seconds. You don't have to manually go digging around searching for files or worry that you might accidentally forget something. And when you extract the zip file to a folder, Autocad knows where to look for the files. No need to repath anything.

    Quote Originally Posted by dueingx4 View Post
    how will it do when I want to take the files back to the office, will that screw anything up?
    This is where you have to be diligent with your file management. If you take files home to work on them, when you bring them back to the office you will need to move the existing, and now obsolete, files to a backup folder and then replace them with the updated files.

    Note: If you do need to repath xrefs, you can use the Reference Manager utility found in your Start Menu > All Programs > Autodesk > Autocad "Version Number". It allows you to easily repath all xref files with just a few mouse clicks.
    Attached Images
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  9. #9
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,902
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Discipline
    Construction
    dueingx4's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Consultant @ Crown C Supply
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Posts
    22

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    OK, here is the deal... I brought files home originally just bringing all drawing files and xref files home. Copy them off my thumb drive onto a folder on my desktop. When I load a drawing up with xrefs attached, the xref file do not come up. I get the error message that there are unreconciled layers. I would try to repath the xref to locate the xref I now have on my desktop, and it will not locate the location, it simply goes back to the original path from the office directory.

    So today, I used Etransmit and was able to get 1 single sheet transmitted into a zip folder as suggested. Brought the etransmit zip folder home, extracted and saved onto a folder on my desktop, loaded the drawing, and STILL no xref files. Still gives me the error, unreconciled layers, and will not let me repath to find the xref on my desktop.

    WHAT THE HELL AM I DOING WRONG?!?!

Similar Threads

  1. simple simple... connecting to 2006 via interop
    By btraemoore in forum .NET, ObjectARX & VBA
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 29th Apr 2013, 03:39 pm
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 23rd Nov 2010, 02:27 pm
  3. simple question
    By alijahed in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 23rd Jun 2010, 11:30 pm
  4. simple dwg to pdf question
    By kippax in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 3rd Nov 2009, 05:22 pm
  5. Simple Dim Question
    By Methuselah in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 20th Apr 2006, 08:57 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts