Learning to scale properly

iloilmarketing

I am new to AutoCad and am currently running AutoCad LT 2015.

The current and major issue I keep running into is learning how to scale my drawings to a readable format to print. I am creating drawings of petroleum tanks and gas station layouts at the moment. My current drawing, I have two 24' x 24' fuel islands and they are separated by 105' of space. The issue I am having is once I complete the drawing all of my annotation dimensions are incredibly tiny and unreadable. As well as the text I am using to label specific parts of the drawing. I somewhat know how to get around the text portion, by making the text very large. This isn't a great system as the drawing pieces are small and the text is huge. I'm sure I am just doing something wrong and don't completely understand the scaling. I am drawing in a 1:1 scale at the moment.

Can someone shed some more light on this for me? I am willing to provide whatever is needed to better explain my situation or provide more information.

Thank you in advance for your help on this issue, it means a lot.

• Replies 32
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• iloilmarketing

• ReMark

• Ski_Me

• Dana W

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

ALWAYS draw 1:1 in modelspace. I assume you are drawing in imperial units. Are you using layouts and viewports? One option is to make your dimensions and text the actual height that you want them to appear in paperspace, say 1/8" or 3/16", and apply them there, directly over the viewport, onto and around the objects. The other option is to use annotative dimensions and text, with the scale of your viewport assigned to them.

The third and most tedious option is tedious because you will need a separate dimension style for every scale you use in a paperspace viewport. That option is to use non annotative modelspace dimensions and text, as you are apparently already attempting to do. It's OK to do so, but it is Old School.