+ Reply to Thread
Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5
Results 41 to 44 of 44
  1. #41
    Forum Deity SEANT's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    2,453

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Regrettably, my enthusiasm for code maintenance, at least as it applies to the exchange postings, has waned a bit. And the Text To Geometry app was the catalyst. For some Windows 7 based systems that app would crash, and take AutoCAD with it.

    The Autodesk Exchange testers were able to reproduce the crash on one of their test setups, and the app was rightfully pulled from the store. After the Exchange reported it to me, I set up a separate system with Windows 7, but could never reproduce the crash. Neither could most of the people I've corresponded with, windows 7 or otherwise.

    I don't doubt that a problem exists - it's just tough to debug an issue that can't be experienced. I suspect it has something to do with 'permissions' and how that particular App stores settings between use.

    All that aside, I have let the other apps slide as well. Despite some newer projects that have captivated my attention, I've got to get my butt back in gear to update what's already on the shelves.

  2. #42
    Luminous Being BlackBox's Avatar
    Computer Details
    BlackBox's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8.1 Professional, Server 2012 R2 Datacenter
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T3600
    CPU:
    Hex-Core Intel Xeon 3.2Ghz
    RAM:
    32GB
    Graphics:
    3GB NVIDIA Quadro K4000
    Primary Storage:
    2 x 240GB Samsung EVO SSD (RAID 0)
    Secondary Storage:
    1TB Western Digital VelociRaptor 10K RPM
    Monitor:
    Dual 24" Dell Ultrasharp Widescreen Monitors
    Discipline
    Civil
    BlackBox's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Senior Civil Designer
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Public/Private Land Development, Transportation, and Utilities.
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    5,282

    Default

    I can completely relate - I've had several customers need assistance, only in my case, to find out that Autodesk unilaterally changed PackageContents.xml, or my help files without even so much as notifying me (I had to trouble shoot it myself to find out).

    In any event, I'm glad that you've made a good choice for your situation, and hope it improves moving forward, my friend.


    Cheers
    "Potential has a shelf life." - Margaret Atwood
    AutoCAD, and Civil 3D Certified Professional | Autodesk Authorized Developer
    Sincpac C3D ~ Exchange Apps ~ Autoloader ~ AutoCAD Security

  3. #43
    Forum Deity SEANT's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    2,453

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BlackBox View Post
    . . . . that Autodesk unilaterally changed PackageContents.xml, or my help files without even so much as notifying me . . . .
    Yikes! Their making the decision to pull an app from the shelves is one thing, that's something else entirely.

    As a matter of fact, I think they should make a point to avoid meddling at the app level. They should insist that the app developer make corrections. Perhaps pull the app, if necessary. I'm sure they have plenty of issues at the Autodesk application level to keep their developers busy.

    I will acknowledge that the Exchange is more likely dealing with a ''mission critical' state than the average App Store. As such, the balance of all things may be more complex. Hopefully a few more years of experience will make everything run more smoothly.

    Keep plugging away, mon ami. I'll do the same.

  4. #44
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,815

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    The printer is not working, is it turned on, yes, lights on, yes, Check correct printer chosen, yes, sure its plugged in, yes, please double check, yes, check the status of prints pending on printer, I have no idea, oh sorry some one has kicked the printer cable slightly out working now. Will the App store pull the software because it wont print ?
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

Similar Threads

  1. Text figures as geometry and tool bar size
    By Quik&Easy in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 27th Nov 2010, 12:04 am
  2. Geometry analysis for text and blocks using AutoCAD
    By ewan_m in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 18th Mar 2010, 08:09 pm
  3. Geometry in Text
    By ankitcs in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: 25th Oct 2007, 02:12 am
  4. Geometry in Text
    By ankitcs in forum Autodesk Software General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 19th Oct 2007, 05:20 pm
  5. EXPLODING TEXT TO GEOMETRY
    By dangermouse in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 7th May 2007, 08:30 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts