+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    30

    Default Why cannot I offset this shape 1.0 mm towards outside?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Why cannot I offset this shape 1.0 mm towards outside? I have attached the original dwg file here. Thank you very much! cannot offset.dwg

  2. #2
    Forum Deity MSasu's Avatar
    Discipline
    Construction
    MSasu's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    engineer
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    AutoLISP programmer
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brasov, Romania
    Posts
    4,008

    Default

    Is quite strange, at least for me, that the otside offseting seems to be somehow disabled. There were not self-intersections on your entity. However, if you explode the spline it will be possible to offset it as desired, although I'm not sure if this is feasible for you.
    Regards,
    Mircea

    AutoCAD's happy user equation: FILEDIA + PICKADD² + PICKFIRST = 3

  3. #3
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,675

    Default

    In AutoCad 2015, one can see that it is a "control vertices" spline, not sure if that exists in 2013. The vertices alternate inside and outside of the "line" in a number of very tight places, indicating opposing arcs, so the calculations in the drawing database might be showing AutoCad places where the "real line" does recurve drastically in some very tiny places and will create a self intersecting path if offset. You can see these places if you click the edit handle and change it to a FIT Spline.

    One way to get it to offset is to change it via pedit, to a polyline. This, of course results in about 600 waddzillion vertices in the pline, but it will offset then, and retain its smooth shape. This massive count of vertices will remain, if changed back to a spline via pedit.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  4. #4
    Senior Member lrm's Avatar
    Computer Details
    lrm's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    RAM:
    16 GB
    Discipline
    Education
    lrm's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Teacher, AEC and mechanical
    Discipline
    Education
    Details
    Civil and Mechanical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    341

    Default

    junehe, I tried using splinedit on the spline several times and AutoCAD crashed. I was successful in creating the final spline you want by first creating an offset spline 1mm inside the spline and then creating an offset spline 2mm offset to the outside of that spline. It was necessary to create the final desired spline with 5 pieces, each with many CVs but not as bad as a polyline approximation. BTW, Offset will create self-intersecting splines in some cases but not always.

    P.S. MSasu, I like your Fibonacci icon!

  5. #5
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    30

    Default

    Thanks Irm! I tried your method and it worked! I just need to connect these 5 pieces together then. Better than trace all over again! Thank you!

  6. #6
    Senior Member lrm's Avatar
    Computer Details
    lrm's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    RAM:
    16 GB
    Discipline
    Education
    lrm's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Teacher, AEC and mechanical
    Discipline
    Education
    Details
    Civil and Mechanical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    341

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    junehe, You are welcome. I find that a good problem solving strategy to use when you are stuck it to do the opposite of what you are trying. For example, if you are using the top for a solution with no luck try using the bottom, if you are combining components and cannot find a solution try using individual components. Sometimes it is helpful to move a problem to a different domain. If an analytic solution does't work try a trial and error approach which may yield a satisfactory solution.

Similar Threads

  1. Offset lines create diffrent layers and specify offset distence
    By 121madhu in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 7th Dec 2013, 02:52 pm
  2. Offset to layer on particular side and erase orignal object offset from
    By Baber62 in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 15th Oct 2012, 03:20 pm
  3. Need help with a shape!
    By otsaki in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 1st May 2012, 02:34 am
  4. Offset Plane Will Not Offset Correctly
    By Bill Tillman in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 6th Jun 2011, 03:15 am
  5. How do you draw a shape on the Z axis using the shape tool?
    By cvriv.charles in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 22nd Feb 2009, 10:47 am

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts