A question of possibility

Minandreas

Hello all! I've been working in autocad for about 5 years now, but am posting in the beginners' area because I've never had the slightest bit of formal training. :unsure: Lately, the inefficiency of how things are done in my workplace CADwise has really started to drive me nuts, and I've taken it upon myself to figure out how to improve things.

I've been learning about dynamic blocks and attributes in order to make the process of placing symbols around the plan more efficient than going to a massive collection of constant objects and having to put them on like stamps on a page. I've learned loads, but there are some things I want to achieve that I can't seem to find any explanation of how. So either I'm blind, it's considered such basic knowledge no one even posts it anywhere, or it's just not possible. Hoping to find out here.

Referring to attached example.

Visibility states have helped me condense a lot of separate symbols down to one, and making it annotative lets me spin the text easily as needed depending on the facing of the object. Align makes snapping it to strangely angled walls easier too. Now what I'd love to figure out is how I can make the text stay at 0° automatically. Because frankly, I never want it to be otherwise. So if I snap it to a wall and the Align parameter changes the angle of the block, I want it so that the F remains perfectly upright within the square. Not at an angle. If I use the rotate command, again, it will remain upright automatically.

I've played with the rotate parameter and action and learned how you can use them in an action chain to rotate an object while keeping the text centered and upright, but that's only if you grab the rotate grip and spin. Which is obnoxious since I can't specify an angle that way (despite it saying you can...:glare: ). So I'd like to be able to use the rotate command. I'm more used to using that anyways.

FireAlarm.dwg

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply