"Explode" 3D design

necospaiens

Is it possible to "explode" a 3D design into the separate objects? Eg. designing a cabinet in 3D and then automatically generate a textual or visual list of the different components and their dimensions - perhaps even transfer the different parts to a given specified area (like a sheet of plywood) and optimize the placement of the given objects?

I'm very new to ACAD and it's lingo, so I apologize if this has been discussed already or if I posted in the wrong thead :(

All help is appreciated! Thanks!

Using plain AutoCAD? No.

I guess I have to qualify that answer by adding the words ...not without some preplanning to begin with.

Edited by ReMark

It better be possible, because the only other option is that my copy of Autocad is broke. Because I do that just about every day, other than the optimising bit, but even that is just copying a list out of excel that was automatically created with ATTEXT, into an optimising program.

neco:

Is this what you are describing?

ExplodedViewDWG.jpg

It can be done in AutoCAD just not automatically at the push of a button. It takes more work in AutoCAD than it might take in Inventor for example.