+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 53
  1. #21
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    how can I check that and or convert it?

  2. #22
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,683

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by eloid View Post
    20 meters cross -section which I want use 1:100 scale in my viewport
    The drawing you posted is in imperial units, inches and feet. the entire contents of modelspace is 9.5 inches wide and about 20 inches high. Decimal is not a unit type, it is a display method.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  3. #23
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    16

    Default

    how can I change it ???? the orginal file has a ton of detail ( which was removed from this file) is there a easy way to move this file to metric format

  4. #24
    Senior Member ROBP's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ROBP's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WINDOWS 10 PRO
    Computer:
    Eurocom
    CPU:
    IINTEL i7-6700K- 4.00GHz
    RAM:
    64 GB
    Graphics:
    K5100M
    Primary Storage:
    1 TB
    Secondary Storage:
    1 TB
    Monitor:
    N/A
    Discipline
    P&ID
    ROBP's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Powerhouse designer
    Discipline
    P&ID
    Using
    MEP 2018
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    344

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by eloid View Post
    how can I change it ???? the orginal file has a ton of detail ( which was removed from this file) is there a easy way to move this file to metric format
    Only a known accurate dimension compared to the one in the drawing in order to determine exact scale amount increase of it all.

    Even scaled dim can be off if drawing was not drawn to their live dims.

    Good luck
    Creativity is intelligence having fun

  5. #25
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,683

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by eloid View Post
    how can I change it ???? the orginal file has a ton of detail ( which was removed from this file) is there a easy way to move this file to metric format
    I checked the dimensions in your cross section chart and they work accurately after I fixed that version.

    First thing to do is to save the original drawing as something like TEST_original name.dwg just in case something goes wrong. Use that test copy to do the following.

    Run the -DWGUNITS command. Note the hyphen, it's important. As the command prompts you, give it the answers just as I did in the attached image. The image is a copy of the F2 list window. You may want to hit the F2 key to run this command. Just in case you can't read the image, I have pasted the list of commands and responses below.

    Command: -DWGUNITS
    Loading AEC Base...
    Loading AEC Base Extended...
    Loading AEC Core...

    Drawing units:
    1. Inches
    2. Feet
    3. Millimeters
    4. Centimeters
    5. Decimeters
    6. Meters
    Unit for length <1>: 3 or 6

    Drawing unit display formats:
    1. Scientific
    2. Decimal
    Linear display format <2>: 2

    Linear display precision <4>: 4

    Scale objects from other drawings upon insert? [Yes/No] <Yes>:

    Match INSUNITS to drawing units? [Yes/No] <Yes>:


    ** WARNING: you have changed the unit for this drawing database. **
    ** All new objects will be drawn according to the new unit, but **
    ** existing objects will not change size unless you specifically **
    ** ask to have automatic scaling occur. **

    Scale objects in current drawing to reflect change in units? [Yes/No] <Yes>: y

    Include objects in Paper Space? [Yes/No] <Yes>: y

    Scaling the entire database...
    Scaling AecDbObject(s)...
    Scaling entities in Model Space...
    Scaling entities in Paper Space...
    Scaling entities in Paper Space...
    Command:
    Specify corner of window, enter a scale factor (nX or nXP), or
    [All/Center/Dynamic/Extents/Previous/Scale/Window/Object] <real time>:
    Regenerating model.

    Command: Right here is where it is finished.
    Attached Images
    Last edited by Dana W; 14th Mar 2015 at 02:17 am.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  6. #26
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,683

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ROBP View Post
    Only a known accurate dimension compared to the one in the drawing in order to determine exact scale amount increase of it all.

    Even scaled dim can be off if drawing was not drawn to their live dims.

    Good luck
    I checked it, it is exactly 25.4 times too small, so it will scale up accurately.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  7. #27
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,683

    Default

    It just occurred to me that this drawing might need to be in meters, and not millimeters. It is a road profile, right? By the way, the profile chart is drawn (as it should be) in different scales for the x and y axis, which is fine. horizontally the dimensions read spot on, but vertically, it is at half size. In other words the vertical dimensions read twice what they are drawn at.

    If you determine that the drawing does have to be in meters rather than millimeters, the only thing that changes from what I showed above when you run -dwgunits is for you to select meters from the prompt list rather than millimeters, number 6 instead of number 3.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  8. #28
    Senior Member ROBP's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ROBP's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WINDOWS 10 PRO
    Computer:
    Eurocom
    CPU:
    IINTEL i7-6700K- 4.00GHz
    RAM:
    64 GB
    Graphics:
    K5100M
    Primary Storage:
    1 TB
    Secondary Storage:
    1 TB
    Monitor:
    N/A
    Discipline
    P&ID
    ROBP's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Powerhouse designer
    Discipline
    P&ID
    Using
    MEP 2018
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    344

    Default

    today was the ddunit party day
    next........
    Creativity is intelligence having fun

  9. #29
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    16

    Default

    in your above attachement...... your showing the correct selection I should be making per line?

  10. #30
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Im totally confused how to make a new metric drawing ...units in meters, such that its viewport is scaled 1:100 and printed 1:1 on the standard 8x10 paper
    can someone post a simple file?

Similar Threads

  1. Cylinder not printing correctly from paper space
    By dct73 in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14th Oct 2011, 04:36 pm
  2. two viewports onto one paper space?
    By vanglak in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 23rd Feb 2011, 01:29 pm
  3. viewports in paper space.
    By starman in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 28th Jun 2010, 09:24 pm
  4. why my line type does not show on paper space correctly!!!
    By alessandro754 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 23rd May 2007, 04:46 pm
  5. Setting Paper Space to Metric Scale
    By DRD in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 16th Jun 2006, 07:25 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts