+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Computer Details
    scos's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Using
    Civil 3D 2017
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Posts
    12

    Default labeling contour shp file

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    new to map, i have added a shp file with contours @ 10' is there a way for me to show and label them every 20' the range would be between 80' and 200'

    right now all i have done is changed the rule to show only that range @ 10' and left off the rest

  2. #2
    Super Member Murph_map's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Murph_map's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7, Win 8
    Computer:
    HP something or other and the laptop is an HP too
    RAM:
    2 gigs or 6 gigs in Laptop
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Murph_map's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Boats and campers renting and repairs
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Details
    GIS and Map making.
    Using
    Map 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    TN or KY depends if I'm at work or home.
    Posts
    920

    Default

    Couple questions first. Did you mapimport the shape file or use Data Connect?
    If data connect (FDO) you can label in the style manager based on the elevation provided there's a field for elevations in the feature's table.
    If mapimport was used and you created object data on the import you can label them with the mapannoblock tools.

    Last question if you have Civil3D as your profile states while not create a surface and label them there?
    Murph

    Need a boat or camper for the weekend?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Computer Details
    scos's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Using
    Civil 3D 2017
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Posts
    12

    Default

    I used data connect. I had labeled the contours in the style editor, but that labels every contour i only wanted to label every other contour.
    I could do it in civil3d but i wanted to get more familiar with map

  4. #4
    Super Member Murph_map's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Murph_map's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7, Win 8
    Computer:
    HP something or other and the laptop is an HP too
    RAM:
    2 gigs or 6 gigs in Laptop
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Murph_map's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Boats and campers renting and repairs
    Discipline
    Utilities
    Details
    GIS and Map making.
    Using
    Map 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    TN or KY depends if I'm at work or home.
    Posts
    920

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by scos View Post
    I used data connect. I had labeled the contours in the style editor, but that labels every contour i only wanted to label every other contour.
    I could do it in civil3d but i wanted to get more familiar with map
    With data connect you can create a theme based on the elevation and label just the ones you want.
    Murph

    Need a boat or camper for the weekend?

Similar Threads

  1. CSV to contour file in AUTO Cad Civil 3D
    By arunr_18 in forum Civil 3D & LDD
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 22nd Apr 2014, 01:14 pm
  2. labeling using autolisp
    By autocrap in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 18th May 2011, 10:27 pm
  3. Replies: 12
    Last Post: 29th Sep 2010, 02:55 am
  4. Need Help With Polyline labeling
    By Krztoff in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 20th Sep 2010, 07:58 pm
  5. Missing Contour File
    By Critter4 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 18th Feb 2010, 06:17 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts