New to Paperspace after 10 years

ColinPearson

Hey folks. Hump day is upon us :)

I've been using AutoCAD daily for about 10 years now and have no idea how to use paperspace. I first learned some CAD years ago from a grouchy old surveyor but I literally never touched paperspace because the aforementioned grouch told me "it's stupid and we don't use that here". I said ok and went about my model space business. That translates into constantly scaling the text and title block to allow for plotting at 1:1 which sucks but I really just don't know any better.

I may produce 150 drawings on a job that contain nothing but a title block and text/labels/etc in the model space sitting on top of an xref of the main job file that may contains hundreds of layers of various construction events. Of course, the appropriate layers are Frozen/Thawed depending on what that drawing is supposed to highlight.

-Should I be doing this in Model Space instead?

-Instead of 150 separate .dwg files, will I have one main file with 150 layouts tabs?

-If so, are there performance drawbacks or will I notice my machine lagging with so many layouts in one file? it lags BADLY once I get a couple hundred layers worth of stuff going on?

-If I want to show 2 or 4 or 10 views of the same area with a progression of steps, I see how to control the layers individually within each viewport - that's fantastic amazing news for me. But how to I ensure that in all 10 views that I don't accidentally move one of my views of model space by a little bit? For example, say I had one piece of equipment that I want in the center of each viewport, how to I 'lock' the pan/zoom so once I get it set I don't booger it up by accident later?

I like the idea of using paperspace and I think after a little while of browsing this forum and asking Mr. Google I understand HOW to do the things I want but I just want to get y'all's take on how you set up your workflow.

Thanks y'all!