+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    40

    Default Help with Utilities and Measure

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hello there I'm wondering if I can get some help with a question I have. How would I total the distance of multiple separate distances? For example using the measure command I can get the distance of a line. Furthermore I could use the distance command to get the distance of another line. So, how would I go about using Autocad so that I can get the TOTAL of multiple separate lines?

  2. #2
    Senior Member edwinprakoso's Avatar
    Computer Details
    edwinprakoso's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10 Professional
    Computer:
    Sony Vaio T11
    RAM:
    6 GB
    Graphics:
    Intel HD4000
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    Posts
    345

    Default

    If the lines has similar properties (like on the same layer), I would use DATAEXTRACTION and export the length to Excel. Then I would sum total length there.
    Edwin Prakoso | www.cad-notes.com

    The work doesn't matter if it's not built

  3. #3
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,502

    Default

    The easiest way would be to use a custom lisp program. Here is an example...http://lee-mac.com/totallengthandarea.html

    And here is another....http://www.turvill.com/t2/free_stuff/tlen.lsp

    Took all of five seconds to find both.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  4. #4
    Forum Deity Organic's Avatar
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    AutoCAD not applicable
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    2,338

    Default

    Another excellent tool by Lee Mac that I use weekly (tlen.lsp).

  5. #5
    Quantum Mechanic Lee Mac's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Lee Mac's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Ultimate (32-bit)
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Lee Mac's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Custom Programming / Software Customisation
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    19,364

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    The easiest way would be to use a custom lisp program. Here is an example...http://lee-mac.com/totallengthandarea.html
    Quote Originally Posted by Organic View Post
    Another excellent tool by Lee Mac that I use weekly (tlen.lsp).
    The simple ones are often the most useful

    Many thanks for the recommendation guys
    Lee Mac ProgrammingTwitterExchange App StoreDropbox (500MB free)

    With Mathematics there is the possibility of perfect rigour, so why settle for less?

  6. #6
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    40

    Default

    Hey guys I'm back. The lsp program uploads into autocad, but I'm still getting single distances I'm not getting the total of multiple distances like I was hoping for. I'm wondering if someone can try the lsp program on their autocad and if they can get the total of multiple distances. Thank you.

  7. #7
    Super Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    902

    Default Just select objects

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    If this doesn't help you, you may have to do more explaining. The program doesn't need you to input distances, just select the objects. The program will determine and add the lengths automatically.
    When all you have is a hammer, everything looks like a nail.--

    “Doc, it hurts when I do this.” “Well, don’t do that!”

    “Well, if you don’t know, I’m certainly not going to tell you!”

Similar Threads

  1. Time to appear in Drawing Utilities
    By Conor in forum The CUI, Hatches, Linetypes, Scripts & Macros
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 2nd Aug 2013, 12:23 pm
  2. Block Lisp Utilities
    By nicolas in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 29th Jun 2012, 03:29 am
  3. Utilities Record Drawing
    By mikesj73 in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15th Feb 2011, 10:48 pm
  4. Drawing utilities???
    By kasper_4000 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11th Nov 2010, 10:47 am
  5. Utilities for printing STB and CTB files.
    By CAD Panacea in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 25th Sep 2006, 08:40 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts