Dimensions and autotracking

built4thekill

Hi Guys, nneds some help here. I'm new to Autocad so forgive me if i dont use technical terms correctly...i'm having 2 issues which have suddenly popped up...i probably just pressed something by mistake. Well firstly when I used to use the distance tool, the measured distance showed up on screen like a temporary annotation. It lately has stopped showing in the drawing but only in the command line. How do I make it show in the drawing? Secondly I find the autotrack option very crucial. If for example I need to create a wall 12inches from a corner I'd just hover over the corner, move my mouse in the desired direction and type 12+enter to start the wall 12 inches from the corner...lately however after typing the number and pressing enter Autocad just sets the point (what appears to be) randomly on the drawing...any ideas why?

Type DSETTINGS in the command line, and see if Dynamic Input, and Object Snap Tracking are enabled. If not, enable them. Here is an explanation of each, and alternative methods to control these settings, copied straight out of the HELP (F1) screen.

Dynamic input is what displays info and allows input by the cursor. Object Snap Tracking is what allows you to slide the cursor in a direction, and then see a real time distance and angle displayed, (next to the cursor if Dynamic Input is on).

Dynamic input is controlled by the system variable DYNMODE. It should be set to 3.

It turns Dynamic Input features on and off.

Type: Integer

Saved in: Registry

Initial value: 3

When all features are on, the context governs what is displayed.

When DYNMODE is set to a negative value, the Dynamic Input features are not turned on, but the setting is stored.

0 All Dynamic Input features, including dynamic prompts, off

1 Pointer input on

2 Dimensional input on

3 Both pointer input and dimensional input on

If dynamic prompts are on ( DYNPROMPT is set to 1), they are displayed when DYNMODE is set to 1, 2, or 3.