+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    7

    Default Dynamic Blocks - Rotation

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi there, hopefully this is just me being dumb.

    What I have is an object that I have made into a block,

    It has a vertical component, which can rotate 6 deg. clockwise and 11 deg. anti-clockwise.

    Problem is, I need to limit the rotation 11 deg one way 6 the other, as the default location needs to stick at vertical.

    The rotation parameter, as far as I have experienced, only allows me to limit movement in one direction, so it can rotate 17 deg. clockwise. Or 17 deg. anticlockwise.


    What am I doing wrong?


    Thanks

  2. #2
    Forum Deity steven-g's Avatar
    Computer Details
    steven-g's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7
    Discipline
    Construction
    steven-g's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Draughtsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    I work in the estimating department of a large building contractor.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    An Englishman in Belgium
    Posts
    2,042

    Default

    You can limit the rotation between 2 angles - minimum and maximum. Can you post a copy of the block it would be easier to answer if someone can actually see what you are trying to do.

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Hi there,

    Attached is a quick file that illustrates the problem.


    As you can see, I have limited the range that it can move, but for some reason which is likely my fault, it only rotates one way with the range set.

    Which would be fine were it not that the default location needs to be vertical, not at the base.


    Hope this makes more sense
    Attached Files

  4. #4
    Forum Deity steven-g's Avatar
    Computer Details
    steven-g's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7
    Discipline
    Construction
    steven-g's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Draughtsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    I work in the estimating department of a large building contractor.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    An Englishman in Belgium
    Posts
    2,042

    Default

    Is this something like, what you want to do. Or do you need to use actual negative values for the input.
    Attached Files

  5. #5
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Steven,

    That's exactly what I wanted to do, thank you.

    I can see what I was doing wrong now. - aka I was doing it completely wrong.


    Brilliant this has been annoying me for a few days and I couldn't find any relevant/useful info that told me how to do it correctly.


    Thanks again,

  6. #6
    Forum Deity steven-g's Avatar
    Computer Details
    steven-g's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7
    Discipline
    Construction
    steven-g's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Draughtsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    I work in the estimating department of a large building contractor.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    An Englishman in Belgium
    Posts
    2,042

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    You weren't far off, all I did was adjust a few of the angles in the properties toolpalette.

Similar Threads

  1. Dynamic Block Rotation
    By RFRUSSO in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 31st Mar 2014, 04:23 pm
  2. Dynamic block with Atribute rotation
    By notkathrine in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 23rd Nov 2013, 08:31 pm
  3. dynamic blocks and reverse rotation actions
    By cholpuch68 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 14th Dec 2012, 03:16 pm
  4. Dynamic Rotation
    By TWCameron in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 18th May 2010, 07:22 pm
  5. rotation parameter (dynamic blocks)
    By chrisdarmanin in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 27th Feb 2008, 08:42 am

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts