+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    1

    Default Colors for plot styles missing in Plot Style Table Editor - AutoCAD 2015 MAC

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi,
    I've just started using AutoCAD and would need to print out my first piece of work. I'd like to create a new plot styles so that my layer colors don't print as displayed (i.e. I want my blue, red and white layers to print as black and my green layer to print as yellow).

    According to all tutorials/instructions I should get a long list of colors (color 1, color 2, color 3 etc) under "plot styles" in the plot styles table editor. However, there are no colors there. Just one that says "normal". How can I choose which layer color to print as what color if I have nothing to choose from?

    I have attached a screen shot of my plot style table editor.

    Please could anyone help? I'm using a student version of AutoCAD 2015 (version J.51.M.256)

    Thanks,
    Sofia
    Attached Images

  2. #2
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,689

    Default

    The solution below is straight out of AutoCad Help (F1 key) for Windows. It should be the same for Mac. This is a pretty basic legacy function in AutoCad, so I can't imagine them changing it just for the Mac. If it does not work, or does not have the same command(s), hit F1 and search for stb. Something there will be helpful.

    I noticed your plot style is unnamed.stb. Plot styles ending in the .stb extension are not color dependent plot styles. You probably will have to convert the drawing you are using, to work with color dependent plot styles, those that end in .ctb extension. Color dependent plot styles can react to the incoming object color, and plot different colors and line weights instead of the incoming properties. Once you convert the drawing you will see the .ctb extension on the available plot style list.

    Then you can edit one of the plot styles to plot the output color and/or line weight based on the incoming (existing) object color. Do not permanently change the plot styles that come with AutoCad, Save As... a new plotstyle.

    I suggest starting with acad.ctb, the default color plotstyle. It will currently plot all existing colors without changing anything, and prints every lineweight as the default lineweight. It is up to you to customize it and save it as a new plotstyle table (New.ctb file).

    Solution to use color dependent plot styles:
    The drawing has been associated with STB styles. To resolve this, enter CONVERTPSTYLES in command line. A dialog box will show up notifying you that your named plot styles will be removed and that the drawing will be converted from named plot style to Color Dependent mode.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  3. #3
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,161

    Default

    That is unless you would like more functionality out of your plotting. CTBs are easy to use but there are advantages to using STBs. Educate yourself on the differences and make an informed decision as to which on you want to use.
    Drafting is a breeze.

  4. #4
    Forum Deity rkent's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkent's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN7 PRO 64bit
    Computer:
    Dell OptiPlex 7020
    CPU:
    i7 4790 3.6GHz
    RAM:
    16GB, 1600MHz, DDR3 non-ECC 2x8GB
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon 2GB
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung 480Gb SSD
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" FS (2x)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    rkent's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Facilities Design - Semi-conductor manufacturing
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Designer: Process Piping, P&ID's, Machine Part Design, Planning / General Arrangement. Facilities Management. Drafting: Electrical, Controls, Architectural.
    Using
    Mechanical 2017
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lat:35, Long:-106, Elev: 5164'
    Posts
    4,574

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    If you want to stay with the STB simply add two styles for your current problem, one for black and one for color, assign the black one to the layers you want to plot black and the color for the other. Edit each to plot the color you are wanting.
    Sometimes there's a man... I won't say a hero, 'cause, what's a hero? But sometimes, there's a man. And I'm talkin' about the Dude here. Sometimes, there's a man, well, he's the man for his time and place. He fits right in there. And that's the Dude, in Los Angeles. - The Stranger, The Big Lebowski

Similar Threads

  1. Missing Plot Styles - poof it's gone!
    By AmandaK in forum AutoCAD LT
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 6th Nov 2014, 06:59 pm
  2. Plot style table editor - Help
    By Faouweb in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 5th Sep 2014, 07:44 pm
  3. Missing plot styles
    By Butch in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 9th Dec 2013, 03:50 pm
  4. Open Plot Style Table Editor
    By FELIXJM in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 27th Aug 2012, 12:10 am
  5. Pantone colors and plot style modification
    By hyposmurf in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 29th Jan 2004, 02:12 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts