+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    Watson's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T1600
    Motherboard:
    Intel Xeon
    CPU:
    E31245
    RAM:
    8.00 GB
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    33

    Question Easy way to associate materials with layers?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hola! Sorry if I'm posting this in the wrong place... I did search for this before posting, but didn't see anything relevant.


    First of all, I'm an AutoCAD guy. I only know enough about Inventor to be very dangerous.


    At the company I work for (manufacturing) the Design team (me) uses AutoCAD to create our space planning blocks. This is pre-sale activity. The Engineers model everything (post sales) in Inventor.


    Occasionally I will be asked to draw something that is "just like that other thing we did," so I will open up Engineering's model of that thing and export to DWG to use from there.


    For rendering and quoting we use a 3rd party software that manages information via layers. For example, a work surface face is on a specific layer, the edge is on a specific layer, the powdered components are on a specific layer, etc, etc...


    When I export from Inventor, the DWG file is VERY detailed, down to the screws, but everything is on the "0" layer. This really sucks because I have to spend a ton of time dissecting the block in order to assign the correct layer information to every bit of geometry.


    I noticed the other day though, that when I switched to a realistic or conceptual visual style, the freshly exported Inventor block retained all the sweet info... like it was showing details down to the grain direction of the surface.


    My question to you guys, is if you know of an easy way to get that info converted to layer? Whether that be in CAD after I export or from within Inventor in my export. Ideally there's already an LSP or something similar that can do this in a button press.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    10,139

    Default

    I don't use Inventor, but I found this. Maybe it will help: http://www.design-excellence.com/tut...ortingdwg.html
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  3. #3
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    Watson's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T1600
    Motherboard:
    Intel Xeon
    CPU:
    E31245
    RAM:
    8.00 GB
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    33

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.


Similar Threads

  1. Change colors or layers based on materials..
    By Eigil in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 13th Dec 2012, 10:54 am
  2. Dimension Re-Associate
    By nicolas in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 23rd Jan 2012, 03:56 pm
  3. attach materials to layers without using rmat autocad 2006
    By shamsam1 in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 29th Jun 2008, 04:28 pm
  4. Newbie easy question re layers
    By Tekva in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 17th Oct 2005, 10:34 pm
  5. associate handle
    By jandres in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12th Aug 2005, 07:12 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts