+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 76
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    39

    Angry CAN SOMEONE HELP ME CREATE THIS 3D image using viewports in AutoCAD?? PLEASE?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    WP_20150505_001.jpg

    can someone PLEASE help me make this using viewports?? its for my final tomorrow. i have to use three right viewport and it has to have those dimensions

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    ttray33y's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T3500
    CPU:
    XEON W3503
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    Quadro 2000
    Primary Storage:
    1TB
    Monitor:
    Dell 21" LED (DUAL)
    Discipline
    P&ID
    ttray33y's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Process & Instrumentation Designer
    Discipline
    P&ID
    Details
    Design and check process diagram for consistency in accordance to PIP and company standard
    Using
    P&ID 2014
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Inside my head.
    Posts
    123

    Default

    ohh.. assignment/homework?

  3. #3
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    5,976

    Default

    Welcome to CADTutor.

    I suggest you 3D Model it, then let the program draw it for you using the VIEWBASE command.
    Start by drawing the right triangle with legs of lengths 3 & 6, as shown.
    You could just turn on your ORTHO, and draw a POLYLINE of length 6, then move your mouse to the left and click 3 ENTER, then C (for CLOSE) to Close the polyline forming the defining external triangular shape of the top view.
    Then you will be well on your way, report back when you have done that.
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  4. #4
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    39

    Default

    hello! thank you for answering. i have to use the view port three: right

    i have problems creating the top view so i can extrude it

  5. #5
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    39

    Default

    hello! im having trouble making the triangle on top view. the commands im using are

    POLYLINE
    start point: 0,0
    then i make the line be 7 in length bc thats the base and then the next point i put is 3<60 but i cant do the rest so it has a length of 6 and makes a right triangle

  6. #6
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    5,976

    Default

    9 + 36 = 45.

    What is the square root of 45?
    You are assuming that the keyway is centered in the face, which it is not.
    If you do it like I said it will be very easy.
    You don't need to enter coordinate points.
    Attached Images
    Last edited by Dadgad; 19th May 2015 at 03:26 am.
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  7. #7
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    39

    Default

    ok but i have never used viewbase. y professor said i had to use the viewports.what do you mean by turning on ortho? i just cant make the triagnle have the right angles and lengths

  8. #8
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    5,976

    Default

    You are over thinking it. The triangle I drew took about 10 seconds, should have taken 2 or 3.
    If you don't know about ORTHO, hit F8, to turn it on, it will constrain lines drawn to be at right angles.
    Do NOT enter the length of the hypotenuse, just because you see a value displayed on my screenshot, use the CLOSE option in the POLYLINE command, as I suggested earlier.
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  9. #9
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    39

    Default

    ok this has clearned things up a little bit. i was making the lines like 3 with a 60 degree andgle and then trying to make a 6 with a 90 degree angle instead of making it straight up. how can i make the hole?

  10. #10
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    5,976

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    The keyway like slot starts 3 units from the vertex and is one unit wide, right?
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

Similar Threads

  1. Create a Drawing - Viewports problem
    By gnusselt in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 21st Sep 2011, 04:01 pm
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 31st Aug 2010, 10:50 pm
  3. One Raster Image, multiple viewports
    By Brian_63 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 20th Feb 2009, 10:24 pm
  4. Scaling Viewports, image rotation, images in paper space
    By Jaco in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 15th Apr 2004, 10:13 am
  5. is it possible 4 me 2 create a 3D image of pooh n autocad
    By madaryl in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 31st Jan 2004, 02:08 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts