+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 76
  1. #11
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    39

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    So i have to make a keyway and a circle??? ):::: i have the basic triangle down. what do you mean the slot starts from the vertext and is one unit wide? do you mean the keyway?ive only made keyways using offset. it starts at 3 and is one unit wide yes. im sorry im so dumb this is my first engineering class

  2. #12
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    5,965

    Default

    Don't worry about the circle right now.
    The keyway when viewed from the top view will be rectangular in shape, and i unit in width, and a half unit in depth, right?
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  3. #13
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    39

    Default

    do you think i should do the keyway first or the circle? ive only done keyways with offset, would that work? when doing the circle, i go to the middle of the front view and i make the circle with a diameter of 2 or a radius of 4 and then i extrude it? will that make it hollow? also i noticed that the keyway doesn't go all the way back, how can i make that

  4. #14
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    39

    Default


    its ok i have the triangle down

  5. #15
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    5,965

    Default

    I appreciate that you are highly motivated at the moment, and trying to do this, which is good.
    If you would apply a similar amount of zeal to reading my posts and following my clues/instructions, we could both quickly get back to other things.
    I suggested you complete the top view, which will look like a right triangle with a rectangular notch (which I have dubbed the keyway) at a well defined point along the hypotenuse of the triangle. That notch will be positioned as shown in your first post, and will be 1 unit in width along the hypotenuse, and 1/2 unit deep, if you follow me?
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  6. #16
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    5,965

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by frankenstein19 View Post

    its ok i have the triangle down
    Does that mean that you have successfully located the notch along the hypotenuse?
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  7. #17
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    39

    Default

    im sorrrrrrrrrrrrry! im just very confused! youre telling me to do the keyway in the top view. how do i know where to start? do i go to the front view and make a line at 3.00 and draw it upward so i know where the keyway starts? yess i do follow you with the dimensions of the rectangular notch!

  8. #18
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    39

    Default

    am i doing this right so far??

  9. #19
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    5,965

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by frankenstein19 View Post
    im sorrrrrrrrrrrrry! im just very confused! youre telling me to do the keyway in the top view. how do i know where to start? do i go to the front view and make a line at 3.00 and draw it upward so i know where the keyway starts? yess i do follow you with the dimensions of the rectangular notch!
    No apology required.
    Just relax, breathe, everything is going to be okay.
    I now see that you have a nice representation of the overall shape in your modelspace.
    Are you showing us a 3D Solid object, or are those just lines or polylines?
    I am trying to get you to 3D Model it, instead of just drawing it.
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  10. #20
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    39

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    is the keyway ok? when i do the hi command i cant see the extrude on the keyway, like the depth of it. but then again when i di the extrude i just did it downward after i drew it on the top view. is that correct?

Similar Threads

  1. Create a Drawing - Viewports problem
    By gnusselt in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 21st Sep 2011, 04:01 pm
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 31st Aug 2010, 10:50 pm
  3. One Raster Image, multiple viewports
    By Brian_63 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 20th Feb 2009, 10:24 pm
  4. Scaling Viewports, image rotation, images in paper space
    By Jaco in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 15th Apr 2004, 10:13 am
  5. is it possible 4 me 2 create a 3D image of pooh n autocad
    By madaryl in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 31st Jan 2004, 02:08 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts