+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 76
  1. #21
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    5,976

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by frankenstein19 View Post
    am i doing this right so far??
    No you are not there yet, BUT you are much closer than you have ever been before.
    The keyway is meant to be cut at a right angle from the hypotenuse, not the back face.
    Attached Images
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  2. #22
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    39

    Default

    those are all polylines/ im not showing you a solid object but its supposed to be a solid object at the end right? when i use the hide command right? i just have no idea what you mean by 3D modeling it.

  3. #23
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    5,976

    Default

    The HIDE command won't do anything to polylines. It works on 3D Solids though.
    I want to draw the triangle which you have already done, I hope as a closed polyline,
    and then locate the keyway PROPERLY, as shown in my last screenshot.
    STOP trying to draw all 3 views of it. Work with me on the TOP View.

    Please revert to a single viewport in your Modelspace, and set it to TOP view.
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  4. #24
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    5,976

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by frankenstein19 View Post
    those are all polylines/ im not showing you a solid object but its supposed to be a solid object at the end right? when i use the hide command right? i just have no idea what you mean by 3D modeling it.
    Please watch this link
    http://www.cadtutor.net/tutorials/au...nd-press-pull/
    then we can get back to it, and you will much better understand what I am trying to help you to do.
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  5. #25
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    39

    Default



    OK i think i fixed the keyway and made it perpendicular to the hypotenuse. it has a width of 1.00 and a depth of .50 and i extruded it from the top view

  6. #26
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    ttray33y's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T3500
    CPU:
    XEON W3503
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    Quadro 2000
    Primary Storage:
    1TB
    Monitor:
    Dell 21" LED (DUAL)
    Discipline
    P&ID
    ttray33y's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Process & Instrumentation Designer
    Discipline
    P&ID
    Details
    Design and check process diagram for consistency in accordance to PIP and company standard
    Using
    P&ID 2014
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Inside my head.
    Posts
    123

  7. #27
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    39

    Default

    oh geez seeing yours makes me want to cry. i watched the video. when i tried using push and pull it would just do the same as extrude. do i move on to the circle now? and then do i trim whats overlapping?

  8. #28
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    ttray33y's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T3500
    CPU:
    XEON W3503
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    Quadro 2000
    Primary Storage:
    1TB
    Monitor:
    Dell 21" LED (DUAL)
    Discipline
    P&ID
    ttray33y's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Process & Instrumentation Designer
    Discipline
    P&ID
    Details
    Design and check process diagram for consistency in accordance to PIP and company standard
    Using
    P&ID 2014
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Inside my head.
    Posts
    123

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by frankenstein19 View Post
    oh geez seeing yours makes me want to cry. i watched the video. when i tried using push and pull it would just do the same as extrude. do i move on to the circle now? and then do i trim whats overlapping?
    practise + geometry + trigo = good drafter. IMHO

  9. #29
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    5,976

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by frankenstein19 View Post


    OK i think i fixed the keyway and made it perpendicular to the hypotenuse. it has a width of 1.00 and a depth of .50 and i extruded it from the top view
    Please do the following.
    Start the POYLINE command, and with your endpoint OSNAPS turned on, Trace over the TOP view in the upper left viewport.
    Don't draw the full hypotenuse, but follow the snaps which define the notch for the keyway.
    You will wind up with a triangle with the notch shaped bite taken out of it.
    You will then be able to use the EXTRUDE command to give it the depth of 4 units.

    Don't give up, we are almost there. You CAN do this.
    Attached Images
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  10. #30
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    39

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    isnt that what i did?? ): i used polylines traced along the hypotenuse, i made the polyline 3.00 adn then i went up perpendicularly .50 then made a parallel line to the hypotenuse of 1.00 and then went down, then i extruded.

Similar Threads

  1. Create a Drawing - Viewports problem
    By gnusselt in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 21st Sep 2011, 04:01 pm
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 31st Aug 2010, 10:50 pm
  3. One Raster Image, multiple viewports
    By Brian_63 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 20th Feb 2009, 10:24 pm
  4. Scaling Viewports, image rotation, images in paper space
    By Jaco in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 15th Apr 2004, 10:13 am
  5. is it possible 4 me 2 create a 3D image of pooh n autocad
    By madaryl in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 31st Jan 2004, 02:08 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts