+ Reply to Thread
Page 8 of 8 FirstFirst ... 6 7 8
Results 71 to 76 of 76
  1. #71
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    39

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.



    4 solids, so 12 viewports*

  2. #72
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    5,965

    Default

    Try using your VIEWPORTS configuration dialog, as shown in the screenshot, with VPORTS command.

    The views at the right were generated in a matter of seconds (I would never use all of them as they are redundant) using the VIEWBASE command, of which I have spoken.
    But they do not use viewports, so as you are meant to use viewports, you should do it the old school way.

    One day you might want to ask your instructor about VIEWBASE, as he may or may not even know about it.

    Or once you feel good about what you are working on, save a COPY of it, and using the copy, take the VIEWBASE command around the block. you'll be glad you did, even if it is not immediately intuitive. I also included a link a few posts back explaing it.
    Attached Images
    Last edited by Dadgad; 19th May 2015 at 11:47 am.
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  3. #73
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,380

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by frankenstein19 View Post


    i am using angular and thats what its telling me. also is there a way to remove the lines that separate each view port without removing it?
    Your dimensions do not line up correctly with your geometry (that probably explains why they are incorrect). You have to relocate the origin of your UCS and also make sure it is oriented in the right direction. This can be done manually via the UCS command or by using the Dynamic UCS feature.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  4. #74
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,380

    Default

    NotchedTriangle1.jpg

    This is closer to what is depicted in the image of the object you were given to draw re: dimensioning. I just included a few of the dimensions for demonstration purposes.
    I used the Aligned dimension option for two of the dimensions (3.00 and 6.00). I also created a second dimension style so I could get a couple of the dimensions to display differently (2.00 and 4.00).
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #75
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    5,965

    Default

    Thanks ReMark, that's the ticket!

    I had thread fatigue, couldn't bear the thought of another ancillary can of worms, extended dissertation,
    having not even had my morning shower nor lunch at that point.
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  6. #76
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,380

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Well you did a good job Dadgad.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. Create a Drawing - Viewports problem
    By gnusselt in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 21st Sep 2011, 04:01 pm
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 31st Aug 2010, 10:50 pm
  3. One Raster Image, multiple viewports
    By Brian_63 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 20th Feb 2009, 10:24 pm
  4. Scaling Viewports, image rotation, images in paper space
    By Jaco in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 15th Apr 2004, 10:13 am
  5. is it possible 4 me 2 create a 3D image of pooh n autocad
    By madaryl in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 31st Jan 2004, 02:08 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts