+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 25
  1. #11
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,819

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    At a Autodesk seminar just last week Like Dbroada one of the presenters said the same thing they have a world wide network license, save them lots of money.
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  2. #12
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    69

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BIGAL View Post
    At a Autodesk seminar just last week Like Dbroada one of the presenters said the same thing they have a world wide network license, save them lots of money.
    OK thanks a lot for your help

  3. #13
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    69

    Default

    Hi
    If we have 500 stand alone licenses. 10 more people want to buy and share ONE network license. Does the new introduced network pool include only one existing standalone that we have to choose+ the 10 people? or all the 500+10?
    Thanks a lot

  4. #14
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    10,156

    Default

    You're spending a lot of time here asking about licensing questions when you really should be directing these types of questions to the Autodesk sales department or your local reseller. They would be able to answer all of your questions with a simple phone call or email.

    By the way, you should really go talk to your supervisor before spending a lot of money on your own license and loading it on your work computer. Going behind the companies back and loading software without their knowledge is a good way to get yourself in trouble. And on a personal note, I would never purchase my own software for company use. You're not an independent contractor, you're an employee of the company. If they want you to work for them, they need to provide you with the tools to do your job, not the other way around.
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  5. #15
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    69

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Cad64 View Post
    You're spending a lot of time here asking about licensing questions when you really should be directing these types of questions to the Autodesk sales department or your local reseller. They would be able to answer all of your questions with a simple phone call or email.

    By the way, you should really go talk to your supervisor before spending a lot of money on your own license and loading it on your work computer. Going behind the companies back and loading software without their knowledge is a good way to get yourself in trouble. And on a personal note, I would never purchase my own software for company use. You're not an independent contractor, you're an employee of the company. If they want you to work for them, they need to provide you with the tools to do your job, not the other way around.
    Thanks
    I don't wanna call them if I can get the answer here. They expect me to buy it. Here, no one expects anything in return.
    I am trying to convince the company of the worthwhile, so that they will buy it.

  6. #16
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    10,156

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mechaniker View Post
    They expect me to buy it. Here, no one expects anything in return.
    Where are you from? I have never heard of a company expecting their employees to provide their own software. Especially a company with 500 employees. That's ridiculous.

    Here's a thought. In one of your other threads you mentioned you are a beginner and you don't know what xref's are. Perhaps this is the root of the problem. Your company doesn't want to spend a lot of money on another license for someone who doesn't even know what an xref is. Maybe you should put your money into education instead of buying an expensive program that you don't really know how to use. Take some Autocad/Drafting classes at your local college and learn how to use the program. Then, once you can show the company that you know what you're doing, they will probably be more willing to open up their checkbook and purchase another license.
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  7. #17
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    69

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Cad64 View Post
    Where are you from? I have never heard of a company expecting their employees to provide their own software. Especially a company with 500 employees. That's ridiculous.

    Here's a thought. In one of your other threads you mentioned you are a beginner and you don't know what xref's are. Perhaps this is the root of the problem. Your company doesn't want to spend a lot of money on another license for someone who doesn't even know what an xref is. Maybe you should put your money into education instead of buying an expensive program that you don't really know how to use. Take some Autocad/Drafting classes at your local college and learn how to use the program. Then, once you can show the company that you know what you're doing, they will probably be more willing to open up their checkbook and purchase another license.

    I meant the reseller expects me to buy it, they don't wanna give the price just for a chat.
    The company doesn't expect me to pay for it. They don't me to use autocad. But since it takes a lot of time to communicate what I want to be done on the drawings, it is much faster for me to do at least part of the drawings myself. That is why I wanna convince them to buy me a license, which I am willing to share with others.


    I never noticed my colleagues who use autocad mention XREF at work, but I will ask. Also, we only use it for 2d, and we do very simple work. It won't take a lot of time for me to learn how to do their work. In fact I think I already did.

    At university I never used autocad, I used other 3d modelling programs.


    Thanks a lot for your thoughts

  8. #18
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,448

    Default

    Your company is wasting its money buying the full version of AutoCAD just to do 2D work unless it utilizes lisp routines. They could buy you LT instead.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  9. #19
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    69

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    Your company is wasting its money buying the full version of AutoCAD just to do 2D work unless it utilizes lisp routines. They could buy you LT instead.
    They could buy me and everyone else the LT.

  10. #20
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    10,156

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by mechaniker View Post
    They don't me to use autocad. But since it takes a lot of time to communicate what I want to be done on the drawings, it is much faster for me to do at least part of the drawings myself. That is why I wanna convince them to buy me a license, which I am willing to share with others.
    Ok, now everything is making sense. You weren't hired to do CAD work so that's why they don't want to buy another license.

    If they didn't hire you to do CAD work, you probably shouldn't be doing it. You should concentrate on doing the job you were hired for and let the drafters do what they were hired for. And since you're a beginner and don't really know Autocad very well, you're probably doing more harm than good creating drawings that the drafters will have to spend more time fixing.
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

Similar Threads

  1. Autocad LT at almost half price
    By Dipali in forum Feedback
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 7th Mar 2010, 11:18 am
  2. cannot find price of Autocad
    By lacey21 in forum Software & Licensing
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 26th Oct 2008, 03:57 am
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 30th Jul 2008, 08:30 pm
  4. autocad price
    By Ramana in forum Software & Licensing
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 6th Dec 2007, 01:02 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts