+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Full Member 084x4larry's Avatar
    Discipline
    Structural
    084x4larry's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    steel detailer
    Discipline
    Structural
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    69

    Default annotation scale

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    this dwg im working with keeps giving me a message about resetting the scales list due to a large number of annotation scales... should i do it or ignore it?
    "all I have is this piece of rock candy... but it's not for eatin', it's just for lookin' through"

  2. #2
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,040

    Default

    Do it
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkmcswain's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro x64
    Computer:
    HP ZBook 17
    CPU:
    i7-4810MQ @ 2.80 GHZ
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro K4100M
    Primary Storage:
    256GB SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    1TB SATA
    Monitor:
    (2) HP 23"
    Discipline
    Civil
    rkmcswain's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    CAD Manager
    Using
    Civil 3D 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    4,445

    Default

    Depending on what version of AutoCAD you are using, it's going to keep coming back.
    Start your "cleansing" at the lowest level xref and work your way up to the parent drawing.

    Don't let the "Hide Xref Scales" setting on later versions fool you into thinking they are not present, like this article unfortunately claims is a good thing.
    I've seen some drawings with thousands of these and it will slow you down.
    R.K. McSwain
    CAD Panacea | twitter

  4. #4
    Full Member 084x4larry's Avatar
    Discipline
    Structural
    084x4larry's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    steel detailer
    Discipline
    Structural
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    69

    Default

    well this drawing has like 60 x-refs... i didnt create it but now i am responsible for it and everytime i open it it asks me about this... i always just hit the X on the dialog box (i don't like to make a choice if i don't have too) but the drawing runs kinda slow and if there are some things i can safely do to help it i would.... thanks for suggestions and feedback.
    "all I have is this piece of rock candy... but it's not for eatin', it's just for lookin' through"

  5. #5
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,691

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 084x4larry View Post
    well this drawing has like 60 x-refs... i didnt create it but now i am responsible for it and everytime i open it it asks me about this... i always just hit the X on the dialog box (i don't like to make a choice if i don't have too) but the drawing runs kinda slow and if there are some things i can safely do to help it i would.... thanks for suggestions and feedback.
    It is not only safe, it is necessary to keep the drawing from becoming unusable, eventually.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  6. #6
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,161

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by rkmcswain View Post
    Depending on what version of AutoCAD you are using, it's going to keep coming back.
    Start your "cleansing" at the lowest level xref and work your way up to the parent drawing.
    ^^ This +1!
    Drafting is a breeze.

Similar Threads

  1. Annotation scale
    By dannysteel in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 14th Jan 2015, 12:02 pm
  2. Annotation Scale does not equal plot scale
    By jodyhunt in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 20th Sep 2012, 05:58 pm
  3. Making ANNOTATION SCALE and Viewport scale the same by default
    By mvrcad in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 4th May 2011, 02:35 pm
  4. Lint Type Scale changes when i change annotation scale!!
    By JBullseye74 in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10th Jun 2009, 02:30 pm
  5. Annotation Scale
    By kenny in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 22nd Apr 2009, 01:13 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts