+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    80

    Default trim rectangle outside object

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I need trim rectangle outside object. Please give me lisp.
    Attached Files

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic Lee Mac's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Lee Mac's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Ultimate (32-bit)
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Lee Mac's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Custom Programming / Software Customisation
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    19,364

    Default

    EXTRIM? (Express Tools)
    Lee Mac ProgrammingTwitterExchange App StoreDropbox (500MB free)

    With Mathematics there is the possibility of perfect rigour, so why settle for less?

  3. #3
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    80

    Default

    Sir I am already tried, but it does not work, please first download the file and after trying then give me suggestions.

  4. #4
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    tombu's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Computer:
    Dell
    Discipline
    Civil
    tombu's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Analyst
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Small Street & Stormwater projects. Traffic Calming and other issues.
    Using
    Civil 3D 2018
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL USA
    Posts
    735

    Default

    What software produced those "SURVEY NO BOUNDARY" lines? All those polylines show as closed in properties, but don't appear that way on the screen. Never saw anything like that before. I was unable to use the trim command on them until I changed Closed to No in properties.

  5. #5
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    4,058

    Default

    The polylines seem to go there and back again. If you explode one, there are double lines (one on top of the other).

    This seems to give a magical trim-proof property Fascinating

  6. #6
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    tombu's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Computer:
    Dell
    Discipline
    Civil
    tombu's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Analyst
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Small Street & Stormwater projects. Traffic Calming and other issues.
    Using
    Civil 3D 2018
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL USA
    Posts
    735

    Default

    The reason I suspect they were created by some other software is that listing one of those closed polylines they seem to start at the second point, go to end, then end up at the first point. Maybe not imported from GIS properly? Curious where these lines came from.

  7. #7
    Super Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    902

    Default Intriguing

    I've encountered lines drawn on top of each other that were then PEDITed, but I've never seen them Closed like this, then unTRIMmable. Setting them to Closed No here does not completely solve the problem, either. At least one of them was still not TRIMmable afterward. Actually, one of them was completely deleted when attempting to TRIM using a Crossing Box. Looks like you will have to Explode them before TRIMming.
    When all you have is a hammer, everything looks like a nail.--

    “Doc, it hurts when I do this.” “Well, don’t do that!”

    “Well, if you don’t know, I’m certainly not going to tell you!”

  8. #8
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    tombu's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Computer:
    Dell
    Discipline
    Civil
    tombu's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Analyst
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Small Street & Stormwater projects. Traffic Calming and other issues.
    Using
    Civil 3D 2018
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL USA
    Posts
    735

    Default

    Come on sanju2323 we gotta know how did these lines come into existence? Maybe we might be able to offer advice on that procedure.

  9. #9
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    80

    Default

    sorry to late reply. This drawing was draw in line command. I used to convert it into polyline using pedit command and it began Problem. But I've understood were my mistake.
    All you have to thank you for suggesting in this Forum.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    ttray33y's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T3500
    CPU:
    XEON W3503
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    Quadro 2000
    Primary Storage:
    1TB
    Monitor:
    Dell 21" LED (DUAL)
    Discipline
    P&ID
    ttray33y's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Process & Instrumentation Designer
    Discipline
    P&ID
    Details
    Design and check process diagram for consistency in accordance to PIP and company standard
    Using
    P&ID 2014
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Inside my head.
    Posts
    123

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by sanju2323 View Post
    I need trim rectangle outside object. Please give me lisp.
    the cad file was drawn/drafted badly IMHO. there were plines overlapping each other thats why you cant trim them.

Similar Threads

  1. replace an object (rectangle) with a named block and keep the hyperlink
    By Jaap Marchal in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 15th Mar 2017, 05:17 pm
  2. How do you trim a 3d object at a 45 Degree angle?
    By dlggnation in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 6th Jul 2015, 01:11 am
  3. Draw temporary object (Rectangle)
    By Luís Augusto in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 6th Aug 2013, 03:45 am
  4. Rectangle around an object
    By glazier in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10th Apr 2012, 11:11 am
  5. How to trim a Loft object?
    By dreamer in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10th Jul 2010, 03:55 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts