Temporary CAD software recommendations for old 2011 Macbook Air laptop?!

Likely Lad

Hi guys,

First of all, I'm just getting into CAD and am new to this forum, I appreciate any help I can get and I look forward to getting to a stage where I can start to help out others!

Basically I'm currently shopping for a new machine that I want to run some up-to-date software (maybe Inventor) but for the next few weeks I'm gonna be creating simple 3D printable files on an old MacBook Air 2011...

Long shot, I know... But if anyone knows of any old software which will enable me to get my feet wet with the basics of CAD (hopefully that has something in common with how other CAD packages generally work, as I'll be migrating to them later), it would be much appreciated.

As for what I will be designing, for now it will be limited to housewares, household items etc - so nothing too complicated. But my intention down the line is to move into mechanical designs.

Thanks for any help!

Edited by Likely Lad

You should also be able to set your mac-book to dual boot with windows software using either the built in "bootcamp" or by purchasing parallels (around £30)

This option will allow you to run any cad software under the windows platform.

Please beware though. If you run a mac-book with Retina display, some software may not display correctly due to the high resolution.

Well you are ok on cpu with that macbook air, core i5, yes a a bit slow at 1.6 GHz and only a dual core as well. The real problem is the Intel HD 3000 graphics. As other have said get a PC when you replace your macbook air. Make sure you also get one with a dedicated nVidia graphics card. As suggested Fusion 360 might be a good 1st step until you get your new pc. Good luck :)

Thanks for the amazing responses guys.