+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Senior Member MillerMG's Avatar
    Computer Details
    MillerMG's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    OPTIPLEX 3020
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4570 CPU @ 3.30GHz
    RAM:
    8.0 GB
    Monitor:
    The two in front of me. Dude, I got Dell's
    Discipline
    Civil
    MillerMG's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CADD Drafter
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    Civil 3D 2017
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Fredericksburg, VA
    Posts
    436

    Default Could Greatly Use Some Help with Plotting Multiple Sheets At Once

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Okay, so i feel very stupid for asking for help with this but to save my life I cannot figure this out. We have anywhere from 30-50 sheets for site plans. Opening each sheet and plotting them takes anywhere from 30 min. to an hour. This is taking up too much time when I should be drafting instead of hitting the open, plot, close buttons. Can someone please explain to me from start to finish of how to, I guess, set up sheet sets to plot the whole set of plans at once? I think a sheet set would be used. Not sure about that though. I would GREATLY appreciate any help. Thanks everyone.

    Miller

  2. #2
    Super Member profcad's Avatar
    Computer Details
    profcad's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Ultimate
    Computer:
    Dell
    CPU:
    Dual - Six-Core Xeon
    RAM:
    32GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDA GeForce GTX980TI
    Monitor:
    DUAL 24" WIDESCREEN
    Discipline
    Education
    profcad's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Professor Of CAD
    Discipline
    Education
    Details
    AutoCAD Revit Inventor Soldiworks
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Posts
    856

    Default

    You can also use the Publish command to print multiple sheets at once.
    John Helton
    Professor of CAD
    Oklahoma City Community College
    Oklahoma City, OK

  3. #3
    Senior Member MillerMG's Avatar
    Computer Details
    MillerMG's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    OPTIPLEX 3020
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4570 CPU @ 3.30GHz
    RAM:
    8.0 GB
    Monitor:
    The two in front of me. Dude, I got Dell's
    Discipline
    Civil
    MillerMG's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CADD Drafter
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    Civil 3D 2017
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Fredericksburg, VA
    Posts
    436

    Default

    Not exactly a start to finish answer but I will take a look into it thanks Professor!

  4. #4
    Luminous Being BlackBox's Avatar
    Computer Details
    BlackBox's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8.1 Professional, Server 2012 R2 Datacenter
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T3600
    CPU:
    Hex-Core Intel Xeon 3.2Ghz
    RAM:
    32GB
    Graphics:
    3GB NVIDIA Quadro K4000
    Primary Storage:
    2 x 240GB Samsung EVO SSD (RAID 0)
    Secondary Storage:
    1TB Western Digital VelociRaptor 10K RPM
    Monitor:
    Dual 24" Dell Ultrasharp Widescreen Monitors
    Discipline
    Civil
    BlackBox's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Senior Civil Designer
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Public/Private Land Development, Transportation, and Utilities.
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    5,282

    Default

    When having to go back and produce plots of drawings, I too would recommend either PUBLISH, or a Script (.SCR) that uses PLOT/-PLOT... If you want something similar, but faster, then employ Core Console in parallel (aka multiple, simultaneous instances).

    That said, to avoid ALL of this moving forward, simply use the Autopublish Mechanism (first released back in 2009), which produces PDF/DWF at either drawing SAVE* or CLOSE (user configurable)... This process is exponentially faster than either PLOT, or PUBLISH, and allows you to always have a current plan set, as your work is saved. Rather than performing a PUBLISH for specific sub-set to sendout, simply combine the PDFs already produced in kind, and print, email, etc.

    Cheers
    "Potential has a shelf life." - Margaret Atwood
    AutoCAD, and Civil 3D Certified Professional | Autodesk Authorized Developer
    Sincpac C3D ~ Exchange Apps ~ Autoloader ~ AutoCAD Security

  5. #5
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,738
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  6. #6
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,685

    Default

    There is a selection in your publish options to pick either single sheets or one multi-sheet document.

    Once that is set up, all you have to do is click the output tab on your ribbon, then click Batch Plot, (2015, right?) select the sheets you want to plot (by right-click removing the ones you don't need, like modelspace) and then clicking the publish button. The sheet list can be named and saved if you wish to do so.

    Batch plot, by default will want to plot all currently open drawings for the same instance of AutoCad, so if you don't want to spend a lot of time removing sheets from your list, only have open the drawings you wish to plot now. Batch plot will plot all sheets in the current list to the same multi-page file, which can include more that one open dwg file, so if you don't want that you have to watch out for it.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  7. #7
    Senior Member MillerMG's Avatar
    Computer Details
    MillerMG's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    OPTIPLEX 3020
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4570 CPU @ 3.30GHz
    RAM:
    8.0 GB
    Monitor:
    The two in front of me. Dude, I got Dell's
    Discipline
    Civil
    MillerMG's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CADD Drafter
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    Civil 3D 2017
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Fredericksburg, VA
    Posts
    436

    Default

    Right on! Thank you very much! I look forward to putting this to good use! Running road profiles and corridors right now so don't have time to take a look at it.

  8. #8
    Luminous Being BlackBox's Avatar
    Computer Details
    BlackBox's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8.1 Professional, Server 2012 R2 Datacenter
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T3600
    CPU:
    Hex-Core Intel Xeon 3.2Ghz
    RAM:
    32GB
    Graphics:
    3GB NVIDIA Quadro K4000
    Primary Storage:
    2 x 240GB Samsung EVO SSD (RAID 0)
    Secondary Storage:
    1TB Western Digital VelociRaptor 10K RPM
    Monitor:
    Dual 24" Dell Ultrasharp Widescreen Monitors
    Discipline
    Civil
    BlackBox's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Senior Civil Designer
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Public/Private Land Development, Transportation, and Utilities.
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    5,282

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MillerMG View Post
    ... Running road profiles and corridors right now....
    Same here
    "Potential has a shelf life." - Margaret Atwood
    AutoCAD, and Civil 3D Certified Professional | Autodesk Authorized Developer
    Sincpac C3D ~ Exchange Apps ~ Autoloader ~ AutoCAD Security

  9. #9
    Senior Member MillerMG's Avatar
    Computer Details
    MillerMG's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    OPTIPLEX 3020
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4570 CPU @ 3.30GHz
    RAM:
    8.0 GB
    Monitor:
    The two in front of me. Dude, I got Dell's
    Discipline
    Civil
    MillerMG's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CADD Drafter
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    Civil 3D 2017
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Fredericksburg, VA
    Posts
    436

    Default

    Got everything to work out with no issues at all. Thanks everyone!

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Using
    Civil 3D 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    16

    Default Hopefully, a helpful suggestion

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    You might also want to look into sheet sets. At the very least, they can be invaluable in plotting large numbers of drawings at the touch of a few buttons. At the most, you can open and plot drawings through the sheet set manager (SSM), and even edit certain title block information (if set up properly) in drawings without ever opening them. Have a look...

Similar Threads

  1. multiple plotting of different sheets in 1 drawing
    By charmrus2000 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11th Nov 2012, 11:28 pm
  2. Multiple sheets. Single or multiple DWG files?
    By uhcafigdc in forum CAD Management
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 15th Dec 2010, 02:01 pm
  3. plotting multiple sheets to one pdf file
    By michaeloureiro in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 6th Feb 2010, 03:39 pm
  4. plotting multiple sheets
    By slimjramirez in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 23rd May 2006, 04:49 pm
  5. Plotting Multiple sheets
    By GSwariior in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 19th Jan 2006, 03:36 am

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts