+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    13

    Unhappy Doors and windows

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I have several floor plans drawn for my projects. This is probably a silly question, but I'm going to ask it anyway. I can't seem to find out. How do I draw the doors and windows on the floor plans? I have the schedules, but is there a certain way it is supposed to look? I have the places where they are supposed to be marked, but how do I draw them so they will be recognized as doors and windows? I've checked the threads, but I couldn't find the answer that applies to what I'm asking.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    13

    Default

    I think I figured it out-at least for the windows, I think. I still could use a little help with the doors.

  3. #3
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,357

    Default

    You'll be including a door and window schedule as well?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  4. #4
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,675

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Legacy14 View Post
    I have several floor plans drawn for my projects. This is probably a silly question, but I'm going to ask it anyway. I can't seem to find out. How do I draw the doors and windows on the floor plans? I have the schedules, but is there a certain way it is supposed to look? I have the places where they are supposed to be marked, but how do I draw them so they will be recognized as doors and windows? I've checked the threads, but I couldn't find the answer that applies to what I'm asking.
    Doors and windows don't have to be all that detailed unless it's the door or window itself that is being detailed out. Simple symbols are enough, as in the attached picture. The opening width should be accurate (nominally) though. The windows can also be only one horizontal line instead of two like the ones in my drawing. Don't bother drawing any moldings, mullions, muntins, knobs or hinges. By "Nominally" I mean the nominal size of the door. A 3068 (3'-0" x 6'-8") door can have the opening drawn 3'-0" wide. No need to account for the fact that it is the door panel itself that is 3'-0" wide, plus the frame and rough opening. That stuff goes into the door schedule, and/or finish specification documents where the masons and framers can find it.

    By the way, AutoCad has door and window blocks that come with it, in the tool pallets, click TOOLS >> Pallets >> Architectural tab. See the second image.
    Attached Images
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    13

    Default

    I do have the door and window schedule. What I did so far is I figured out how to do the windows with the horizontal line. For the doors I have only cut out the locations of the doors using the schedule. I wasn't sure if I had to have the curve of the door at a particular angle, etc. Also, the outside doors look different. I believe there are some sliding doors as well.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    13

    Default

    I'm gradually learning how to think through the process. Also, I realize that wisdom is not always knowing how to do it at first, but knowing where to find the answers and who to consult. Thank you again ReMark for all of your threads. You must be in the business to be so knowledgeable.

  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,357

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Any good architectural drafting and design book would have the information you seek.

    Generally speaking the arc defining the swing of the door is set at ninety degrees although I have seen some companies use 45 degrees.

    One of many references available...http://cset.sp.utoledo.edu/~nkissoff...100/FP1-5a.pdf

    Scroll down until you get to the section re: doors in floor plan.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. In need of more walls, windows & doors
    By Nick-H- in forum Revit General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 8th Dec 2010, 06:39 pm
  2. 3D blocks of doors and windows
    By CAD911 in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2nd Apr 2010, 01:18 pm
  3. Doors and Windows
    By ben101965 in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10th Oct 2008, 06:06 am
  4. No Blocks for Windows or Doors
    By rc0213 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11th Apr 2008, 06:30 am
  5. Importing Doors And Windows
    By rc0213 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 3rd Apr 2008, 02:27 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts