+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Inventor 2012
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    3

    Default Need Help Simplifying Polylines

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi!

    First of all, This is my first post here and I'm not an EXPERT in english, so I will try to explain as good as possible.

    I'm using Inventor 2012 and AutoCAD Mechanical 2012.

    In Inventor I have a piece in which it was applied the punching tool (Custom one)
    it works Perfectly, but when I export it to autoCAD it comes with too many points or vertex, I know if I draw it in autocad I wont have that problem, what that's why we use a Punch Tool, to simplify things and get things easier and always the same.

    Re-draw is out of the question, unless its the ONLY solution..

    We use two CNC Plasma Machine, one of them uses the Software CamBAM and it can edit the vertex and simplifies it and jobs done, but it cant export the job to .dwg or .dxf..

    and the second and new machine (the one i'm having trouble) uses FastCAM software, it has something similar to adjust the vertex but, the real problem is within the FastNEST..

    Either way, the best solution is to fix the drawing in autocad.

    EDITPOL doesnt work, as it just joins it, I need to make less points.. I could Upload the file if needed.

    I'd Really Appreciate any help given.

    Thanks and Again sorry for my many typos.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,821

    Default

    Look for WEED.LSP.

    Are they straight lines that need simplifying? Express Tools> Overkill has an Optimize option for PLines, but I believe it only removes unnecessary points on a straight section.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Inventor 2012
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Hi, Thank you for Replying

    No, most of them are arcs, the OVERKILL function does not helps, also I don't know if i'm using it wrong, but the weed.lsp doesn't do what I want

    I'll upload the file, maybe you can open it and see if for yourself.
    This is an export from Inventor 2012
    the Letters "S" "C" and both part of the "O" have too many points and that
    makes the Cut in the CNC machine, difficult to do

    Thank you Again

    LOGO.dwg

  4. #4
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,821

    Default

    You need to use PEDIT to convert them to polylines first. Right now they are just lines.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  5. #5
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Inventor 2012
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Yes, I know that. Seems like I didn't save the file after I joined all the lines, Still, I can't make it work, It does nothing. Does it work for you?

  6. #6
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,506

    Default

    The fact that the letters "S" and "C" contain 256 and 164 entities respectively doesn't help.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  7. #7
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    tombu's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Computer:
    Dell
    Discipline
    Civil
    tombu's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Analyst
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Small Street & Stormwater projects. Traffic Calming and other issues.
    Using
    Civil 3D 2018
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL USA
    Posts
    735

    Default

    Easiest way is with peditaccept set to 1 command pedit Multiple select the text, Join, enter.

  8. #8
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,506

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    My attempt at reducing the number of polylines.

    See anything unusual? My letter "S" consists of 9 entities. When I made this image my letter was basically sitting over the top of yours.
    Attached Images
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. Need help simplifying my work with macros/custom commands
    By cmidbradon in forum The CUI, Hatches, Linetypes, Scripts & Macros
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 22nd Apr 2015, 04:19 am
  2. Flatten and simplifying geometry.
    By Impact in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 7th Dec 2010, 10:26 pm
  3. Simplifying set of drawings using 3D walls
    By pamadams in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11th Jul 2010, 04:02 am
  4. simplifying polylines
    By mossieramm in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 24th Jul 2009, 11:09 am
  5. Simplifying 3D Faces?
    By Wizzel in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: 29th Jul 2007, 08:45 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts