+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie DragonEcko's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2005
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    6

    Default Refreshing my memory

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hello.
    I have had autocad 2005 for awhile. My pc has been down and I just got it running again because I am embarking on a new journey. I am trying to draw out my home but it seems I have forgotten how to use Autocad. My problem is in how I learn. I tried reading my book but it's like looking at a new language. I'm a visual guy but going online and viewing it on youtube doesn't help either. I don't have time to go back to school so I'm trying to see if I can get help here. I basically need to relearn how to use my Autocad again to get my home Drawings off my grid paper and on to a professional drawing to bring in to my county for review. It would be awesome to get some help if I could getting re taught.
    Thank you
    Jon.

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,505

    Default

    Where are you located?

    Have you looked at the tutorials here at CADTutor?

    Another website that comes highly recommended is one called mycadsite.com where you'll also find good tutorials.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie DragonEcko's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2005
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    6

    Default

    I'm located in Gouverneur NY. I am looking through the tutorials here to get a grasp on it.

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,505

    Default

    OK. Then you'll want to open a new drawing and set your UNITS type to Architectural. I'm guessing you will have no problem with the default precision of 1/16th of an inch. Remember to draw everything in model space at FULL size. Do NOT "draw to scale" as one might do on a drafting board. Make use of Orthomode (keeps lines straight and true) and utilize OSnaps for accuracy. And don't forget to make use of layers and colors. Grab a piece of paper and a pencil and make a list of layers. There should be one for walls, windows, and doors for starters. Later on you may add layers for hatching, plumbing, electrical, furniture, dimensions, text, and your title block and border depending on how detailed you want to make your drawing. Finally, consider the use of blocks for repetitive items (ex. - windows).
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #5
    Forum Newbie DragonEcko's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2005
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Okay I get that part.

  6. #6
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,505

    Default

    Good. Then the next time we hear from you it should be in a post with an image of your floor plan attached. Good luck.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  7. #7
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    designerstuart's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    xp
    Computer:
    various
    Discipline
    Architectural
    designerstuart's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    architect
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    ADT 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    near london, near europe
    Posts
    867

    Default

    ReMark good to see you are still excellent.

  8. #8
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    5,977

    Default

    While we all aspire to excellence, even on a bad day, he's remarkable.
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  9. #9
    Forum Newbie DragonEcko's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2005
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Almost done but can't post the pic of my cad drawing.

  10. #10
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    10,177

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by DragonEcko View Post
    can't post the pic of my cad drawing.
    What problem are you having?
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

Similar Threads

  1. Memory
    By OldRed in forum Revit General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11th Jun 2013, 02:52 pm
  2. image tile refreshing
    By nila_joy in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 18th May 2012, 04:38 pm
  3. CPU Vs Memory
    By mobiledynamics in forum Hardware & Operating Systems
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12th May 2011, 12:02 pm
  4. Question about memory and peak memory
    By gbelous in forum Hardware & Operating Systems
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 7th Apr 2010, 06:31 pm
  5. Refreshing an xref
    By SillyBilly in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 23rd Dec 2009, 09:17 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts