+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Forum Deity SEANT's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    2,453

    Default Testing via Virtualization

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I need to test on OSs that I no longer have available. What are the Virtual Machine options? Searches have implied that Hyper-V is a no go. Is Citrix the only way?

    What advantages does a ADN Standard membership offer in this regard?

    The life of an amateur developer keeps getting more complex.

    cross posted at theswamp.org.
    Last edited by SEANT; 12th Sep 2015 at 06:21 pm.

  2. #2
    Luminous Being BlackBox's Avatar
    Computer Details
    BlackBox's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8.1 Professional, Server 2012 R2 Datacenter
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T3600
    CPU:
    Hex-Core Intel Xeon 3.2Ghz
    RAM:
    32GB
    Graphics:
    3GB NVIDIA Quadro K4000
    Primary Storage:
    2 x 240GB Samsung EVO SSD (RAID 0)
    Secondary Storage:
    1TB Western Digital VelociRaptor 10K RPM
    Monitor:
    Dual 24" Dell Ultrasharp Widescreen Monitors
    Discipline
    Civil
    BlackBox's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Senior Civil Designer
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Public/Private Land Development, Transportation, and Utilities.
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    5,282

    Default

    I use Client Hyper-V exclusively, so not sure why it was implied as a no-go.

    Win8.1 Pro has Client Hyper-V built-in, but is not an installed feature OOTB - simply hit Ctrl+X on the keyboard, select Programs and Features menu item, in the Programs and Features dialog select Turn Windows Features on or Off link to left. In the Windows Features dialog, check the Hyper-V box, and hit OK button.

    Client Hyper-V behaves / performs just as Hyper-V on Windows Server - in fact with the right Active Directory account permissions, you can manage your Server's VMs from your workstation (the Client), which is what I do for work.

    In any event, Client Hyper-V makes it really easy to create and manage VMs.

    Cheers
    "Potential has a shelf life." - Margaret Atwood
    AutoCAD, and Civil 3D Certified Professional | Autodesk Authorized Developer
    Sincpac C3D ~ Exchange Apps ~ Autoloader ~ AutoCAD Security

  3. #3
    Forum Deity SEANT's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    2,453

    Default

    Alright, that's interesting. And good to hear, in that I devoted some time yesterday getting Hyper-V up and running on my 8.1 desktop.

    I searched the Installation and Licensing section at the Autodesk forums and most of the hits suggested that Hyper-V was not supported.

    I'll continue on and see where it get me.

  4. #4
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,821

    Default

    We have Citrix 100's on network they have as I call them BIBLES basicly a network card and graphics, it really relies on how much grunt your server has, we have a Fibre optic backbone a must. Apart from that the numbers probably influence. We moan some days as it crawls. Autocad is reported as supported need to do a bit of searching , we run a Autocad viewer with no problems. We just run Citrix as another program on our pc's with a different suite of internal programs. Thats about the limit though of my knowledge. If you have some questions may be able to get one of the IT guys to help PM me.
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  5. #5
    Forum Deity SEANT's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    2,453

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi BigAl. Citrix sounds like the best Autodesk supported VM, but I don't have access to that.

    Essentially, I need to have access to more OSs than I have computers. Setting up Virtual Machines may be overkill for my needs - I may be better off just setting up the systems as dual boot. The virtual machine option does seem rather appealing, though. Wouldn't hurt to advance my IT knowledge in the process.

Similar Threads

  1. Beta Testing
    By SEANT in forum Application Beta Testing
    Replies: 37
    Last Post: 21st May 2015, 01:37 pm
  2. AutoCad Testing for a job
    By delliott in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 45
    Last Post: 16th Oct 2012, 12:33 pm
  3. Speed Testing
    By TheyCallMeJohn in forum CAD Management
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 20th Sep 2011, 07:57 pm
  4. Testing polyline
    By paulmcz in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 13th Jul 2011, 05:50 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts