+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    4

    Default no light from render

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I have a house and try to render.
    The problem is my windows are all black. Before doing the render I give the glass material and I see inside and outside, but after render no lights from outside.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    10,176

    Default

    Are you rendering from outside the house or inside? Have you enabled Global Illumination? Do you have lights inside the house? Are you using Sun and Sky for exterior light?

    Can you provide the render for us to see?
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    4

    Default black windows

    I enabled both of them.
    I created a simple file, so I can use the similar solution.

    In this case I do not want to use only the outside light.
    I watched a lot of tutorials but I am missing a point somewhere.

    I ll send the file and you can see.
    best regards
    Attached Files

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    10,176

    Default

    I see your glass window is just a single surface. As far as I know, Autocad does not have a 2 sided option for materials, so it just applies the material to one face only. In your case, the glass is see through only from the outside of the building. You will need to rotate your glass surface 180 degrees so the surface will be see through from the inside looking out.

    The other option would be to replace the single sided glass surface with a solid box object. Apply your glass material to the solid box and it will be see through from both sides. This makes more sense anyway because glass in the real world is not paper thin. It does have some thickness to it.
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  5. #5
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    4

    Default

    It worked the second option. Thank you very much and I really appreciate the help. Hope to hear in the future.

    p.s. ( I didnt understand how to rotate 180 degree. I can see from both sides - from outside inside and verse but before render)

    any way no pb, have a good Sunday.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    10,176

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by xeniup View Post
    p.s. ( I didnt understand how to rotate 180 degree. I can see from both sides - from outside inside and verse but before render)
    Yes, in model space, you can rotate around the model and see through from both sides, but when you are rendering, the glass material is only calculated from one side, so the back side of the glass surface is black. If you rotate the glass surface 180 degrees, the back side of the glass surface will be on the outside, so if you render from inside the room, you will be able to see through to the outside. But anyway, the better option is to create a solid object.
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  7. #7
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    yes, I understand.
    I finished it.
    Anyway thanks a lot.
    see you

Similar Threads

  1. light emits from center of image instead of light source
    By ThrashMetal in forum Cameras, Lighting & Rendering
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 28th Sep 2013, 08:45 am
  2. No faces to render message when trying to render 3D model
    By ajteague in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 21st Apr 2012, 10:39 am
  3. Shaped light source - i.e., fluorescent light bulb
    By SaigoLives in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2nd Apr 2009, 10:29 pm
  4. Very light when I render
    By manchest in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 25th Mar 2009, 02:30 am
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 18th Aug 2008, 07:16 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts