+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Super Member bjenk8100's Avatar
    Computer Details
    bjenk8100's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows 8 64 bit
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    622

    Default Plane Recall/Relapse

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I usually use Solidworks for 3D but have to use AutoCAD at the moment. I would like to make viewable planes in model space that I can click on and set the UCS or make a UCS with visible planes. I swore I use to do this in AutoCAD. I know you can with most 3D modeling, you cant in autocad? I know about section planes and that is not what I am talking about. I need reference planes. Please let my struggling self know if this is feasible.

    Tnx!

  2. #2
    Super Member bjenk8100's Avatar
    Computer Details
    bjenk8100's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows 8 64 bit
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    622

    Default

    Also,

    I swore you could snap to UCS origin unless I am mixing things up again. I went to UCS properties and snap properties and did not see anywhere to click an option for that.

  3. #3
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,058

    Default

    AutoCAD does not use reference planes in the same manner as Solidworks, Inventor, Revit, etc. You can still perform plenty of tasks by exploring the UCS command. Also, look at the Ribbon Tab in the 3D Workspace that contains the UCS functions as well.
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,506

    Default

    You couldn't use a region as a reference plane?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #5
    Senior Member zaphod's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    174

    Default

    You may have been using the “dynamic UCS” (F6).

    You can set the view and UCS and save it using the “view manager”.

  6. #6
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,058

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    You couldn't use a region as a reference plane?
    Technically, yes. Anything can be used as a plane in AutoCAD, but simply a "drawing plane". That's what moving and placing the UCS is all about.... but he's asking for the same functionality as the parametric modeling applications. These "planes" are very different as they are a real object and very functional, rather than an immaterial mathematical reality within AutoCAD.
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  7. #7
    Super Member bjenk8100's Avatar
    Computer Details
    bjenk8100's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows 8 64 bit
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    622

    Default

    I am fine with the UCS. I know how to use it well. I just like seeing planes extend for visual reference. I guess I could make UCS very big.

  8. #8
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,901

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    You could draw a bounding box as a pline and use rotate3d move z etc then you can use UCS OB Origin etc, if you want something visual.

    ScreenShot005.jpg
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

Similar Threads

  1. Rotate UCS so that the Y = 0 plane becomes the ground plane?
    By crystalfarquhar in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 29th Sep 2014, 04:30 pm
  2. Plane at an angle to plane through axis
    By KarolR in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14th Jul 2013, 11:47 am
  3. Need to recall a command.
    By 19cruthik68 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 28th Feb 2012, 12:26 pm
  4. [Help] I'm finding lisp copy from XZ plane to XY Plane
    By ketxu in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10th Oct 2011, 10:48 am
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 14th Dec 2010, 10:00 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts