+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21
  1. #11
    Forum Deity David Bethel's Avatar
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    David Bethel's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Commercial Food Service
    Using
    AutoCAD pre 2000
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Newport News, Virginia
    Posts
    2,534

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    You can use AutoCAD saveimg command to export any shademode or rendered output.


    2012:
    Command: shademode
    VSCURRENT
    Enter an option
    [2dwireframe/Wireframe/Hidden/Realistic/Conceptual/Shaded/shaded with
    Edges/shades of Gray/SKetchy/X-ray/Other] <2dwireframe>:



    I used Accurender to produce the serving carts renderings. 1 with surface model, 1 with all edges converted to traces.
    R12 (Dos) - A2K

  2. #12
    Super Member lamensterms's Avatar
    Computer Details
    lamensterms's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 - 64bit
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    lamensterms's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Steel Detailer
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Details
    3D Modelling - Mechanical & Structural 2D Detailing - Shop Drawings
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Berwick, VIC, Australia
    Posts
    569

    Default

    Thanks for the suggestions David. How do you find Accurender in terms of ease-of-use? The beauty of Navisworks' Presenter was that it was really easy to use (with existing NW knowledge). All I had to do was present a view, apply some materials and export a rendered image.

    CAD64 posted earlier and mentioned Modo, which seems pretty high end, with a pretty steep learning curve. That post seems to have been deleted now though.

  3. #13
    Forum Deity steven-g's Avatar
    Computer Details
    steven-g's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7
    Discipline
    Construction
    steven-g's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Draughtsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    I work in the estimating department of a large building contractor.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    An Englishman in Belgium
    Posts
    2,059

    Default

    Doesn't NW use viewports like Autocad, if yes could you just copy one viewport on top of the other one rendered and one wireframe with transparency set per viewport, if no then pretend you didn't read this as I use LT which has no rendering capabilities anyway.

  4. #14
    Super Member lamensterms's Avatar
    Computer Details
    lamensterms's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 - 64bit
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    lamensterms's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Steel Detailer
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Details
    3D Modelling - Mechanical & Structural 2D Detailing - Shop Drawings
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Berwick, VIC, Australia
    Posts
    569

    Default

    Hi Steven, yes NW does have viewports (or windows), but unfortunately with the latest versions of NW there is no option to render (high res) a hidden wireframe rendering (at least not that I have found).

    In previous versions of NW the rendering tool was called 'Presenter', which was pretty versatile but still easy to use. Presenter has now been replaced with another rendering tool which a bit basic compared to Presenter. It still produces nice results, but there is not hidden wireframe or ink render styles.

  5. #15
    Forum Deity David Bethel's Avatar
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    David Bethel's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Commercial Food Service
    Using
    AutoCAD pre 2000
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Newport News, Virginia
    Posts
    2,534

    Default

    Accurender is VERY old and doesn't work with newer releases of AutoCAD. I don't know if Robert McNeel & Associates even supports a full rendering add-on for Autocad any longer.
    R12 (Dos) - A2K

  6. #16
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 10 (H)
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 9020 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770 quad (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    16 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Geforce GTX 645 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    256 gb SSD 0/ 1TB 1 (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Acer 28" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management, Space planning, Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    5,570

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by David Bethel View Post
    Accurender is VERY old and doesn't work with newer releases of AutoCAD. I don't know if Robert McNeel & Associates even supports a full rendering add-on for Autocad any longer.
    Looks like they have gone with Flamingo and Brazil No real surprise as AutoCAD comes with MentalRay as the default rendering engine.
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


  7. #17
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    10,176

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lamensterms View Post
    The beauty of Navisworks' Presenter was that it was really easy to use (with existing NW knowledge). All I had to do was present a view, apply some materials and export a rendered image.

    CAD64 posted earlier and mentioned Modo, which seems pretty high end, with a pretty steep learning curve. That post seems to have been deleted now though.
    Yeah, I posted but then deleted it because I figured it probably was too high end and therefore not really relevant. But in my opinion, the learning curve for Modo is really not steep at all. Modo is really user friendly and pretty easy to learn. The renders below were created by simply applying a 'Cel Edges' material and doing a few simple tweaks of the settings to adjust color and edge display.
    Attached Images
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  8. #18
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    10,176

    Default

    You can also achieve this sort of look in Studio Max with the Ink 'n Paint material: http://docs.autodesk.com/3DSMAX/13/E...e99ff-7f48.htm, but with Studio Max, now you really are looking at a steep learning curve.

    And to answer one of your original questions, this type of rendering is typically referred to as Non-Photorealistic rendering, or NPR Rendering because your images come out looking more Illustrative or Cartoonish.
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  9. #19
    Super Member lamensterms's Avatar
    Computer Details
    lamensterms's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 - 64bit
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    lamensterms's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Steel Detailer
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Details
    3D Modelling - Mechanical & Structural 2D Detailing - Shop Drawings
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Berwick, VIC, Australia
    Posts
    569

    Default

    Thanks Cad64, I think I will have to hunt around a bit for some new software, I appreciate the suggestions. Have you had any experience with Autodesk Showcase?

  10. #20
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    10,176

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    No, I haven't used Showcase. Over the past few years I have been slowly moving away from Autodesk products. The only Autodesk program I still use is Autocad.

    I'm in the process of learning Keyshot right now. I don't have enough experience yet to comment on what it can or can't do, but it has a toon shader than can produce these types of images. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aFpJ7NzNjY4
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

Similar Threads

  1. Shaded & Hidden Wireframe Hybrid Plotting...
    By lamensterms in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 1st Oct 2015, 03:43 pm
  2. Changing View From Wireframe to Grey Shaded
    By basty in forum 3ds Max General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 8th Feb 2015, 05:02 pm
  3. Wireframe looks like ''shaded view'' when i zoom in
    By Ticoh in forum AutoCAD Bugs, Error Messages & Quirks
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 17th Oct 2012, 08:02 pm
  4. shaded Materials
    By Raudel Solis in forum UVW Mapping, Textures & Materials
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 17th Apr 2012, 10:10 pm
  5. gouraud shaded
    By ica_cici in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 5th Mar 2010, 04:50 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts