+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 20 of 20
  1. #11
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    You may have to resort to using the THICKEN command.
    That's brilliant and worked really well for the base, unfortuantly the sides of the hull yielded this;

    "surfaces cannot be thickened with specified value. Object intersects itself."

    Is there anyway around that?

  2. #12
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,496

    Default

    Yes, fix your geometry.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #13
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Ah, why do I have a feeling that is the same as going right back to the beginning. The hull geometry is both concave and convex and unless I work outside the GA drawings I can't see any way I could clean the geometry up. This is what I have now the loft command is run but it has only created a surface and I really need a solid:

    ahv3.jpg

  4. #14
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,496

    Default

    When you attempted to use the thicken command what thickness did you specify?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #15
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    13

    Default

    I started quite large without meaning too, I started with about +1.0m, after realising my mistake I then tried +0.1, then +0.0001. All resulted in the same.

  6. #16
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,496

    Default

    Without an actual copy of the drawing to experiment with I can't give you a definitive answer one way or the other.

    I think you should find a more suitable program for doing hull design other than AutoCAD.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  7. #17
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    13

    Default

    I will carry on playing with it, hopefully its just me not explaining things very well :-)

    File attached for anyone interested

    AHV.dwg

  8. #18
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    13

    Default

    I have done it :-) So in the end I basically created a Keel level planar surface which I then extruded into a solid to the height of the next deck, I then used the "lofted" surface to slice the shape I needed Thanks again for all of your help with this

  9. #19
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,496

    Default

    You're entirely welcomed but to be truthful I really didn't provide that much help. You basically did it all on your own. Congrats.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  10. #20
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Not at all, I would not have known about most of the commands if I had not read many of your responces in other posts. Much appreciated :-)

Similar Threads

  1. Cutting a hole in a solid, and making a circle a solid.
    By mike Keith in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 21st Nov 2016, 02:05 pm
  2. how to made a 3d solid soccer ball
    By buburayak in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 15th Mar 2010, 03:51 pm
  3. Confused on making a simple circle
    By SFG13 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 21st Jan 2010, 12:02 am
  4. Can this object be made of solid?
    By didko in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 26th Nov 2008, 01:56 am
  5. ...create a complex 3d solid (sailboat hull)
    By ledo in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 7th Jul 2005, 04:38 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts