+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    Architecture 2015
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    64

    Default "straight" lines showing as crooked...why?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Both of these lines are shown as being 180 degrees (i.e. horizontal) but clearly they aren't. How do I fix this?

    I tried fixing the UCS to be 'world'
    Attached Images

  2. #2
    Senior Member ROBP's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ROBP's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WINDOWS 10 PRO
    Computer:
    Eurocom
    CPU:
    IINTEL i7-6700K- 4.00GHz
    RAM:
    64 GB
    Graphics:
    K5100M
    Primary Storage:
    1 TB
    Secondary Storage:
    1 TB
    Monitor:
    N/A
    Discipline
    P&ID
    ROBP's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Powerhouse designer
    Discipline
    P&ID
    Using
    MEP 2018
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    344

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kizaerf View Post
    Both of these lines are shown as being 180 degrees (i.e. horizontal) but clearly they aren't. How do I fix this?

    I tried fixing the UCS to be 'world'
    Post dwg so we can examine it, could be that both perpendicular lines you are trying to join are not equal seen it so often.
    Creativity is intelligence having fun

  3. #3
    Senior Member ROBP's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ROBP's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WINDOWS 10 PRO
    Computer:
    Eurocom
    CPU:
    IINTEL i7-6700K- 4.00GHz
    RAM:
    64 GB
    Graphics:
    K5100M
    Primary Storage:
    1 TB
    Secondary Storage:
    1 TB
    Monitor:
    N/A
    Discipline
    P&ID
    ROBP's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Powerhouse designer
    Discipline
    P&ID
    Using
    MEP 2018
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    344

    Default

    if line is straight it could be that all the other ones are not starting at the same point
    construction lines will tell
    Creativity is intelligence having fun

  4. #4
    Forum Deity rkent's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkent's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN7 PRO 64bit
    Computer:
    Dell OptiPlex 7020
    CPU:
    i7 4790 3.6GHz
    RAM:
    16GB, 1600MHz, DDR3 non-ECC 2x8GB
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon 2GB
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung 480Gb SSD
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" FS (2x)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    rkent's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Facilities Design - Semi-conductor manufacturing
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Designer: Process Piping, P&ID's, Machine Part Design, Planning / General Arrangement. Facilities Management. Drafting: Electrical, Controls, Architectural.
    Using
    Mechanical 2017
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lat:35, Long:-106, Elev: 5164'
    Posts
    4,574

    Default

    Check the Y coordinates, they don't match on the lower image. You need to start the units command and change the precision to see the actual angle.
    Sometimes there's a man... I won't say a hero, 'cause, what's a hero? But sometimes, there's a man. And I'm talkin' about the Dude here. Sometimes, there's a man, well, he's the man for his time and place. He fits right in there. And that's the Dude, in Los Angeles. - The Stranger, The Big Lebowski

  5. #5
    Super Member nukecad's Avatar
    Computer Details
    nukecad's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 10 home.
    Computer:
    Various machines.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2000i
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    NW Cumbria (English Lake District)
    Posts
    698

    Default

    As rkent says that second one has different ordinates on the Y value so is not horizontal.
    You can also see this by the 'delta Y' reading.

    Your angle readout is only showing whole degrees so this slight difference does not show there.

    Use AUPREC to change this to show partial degrees rather than just whole degrees and you will see the difference there as well.
    *** Out of Beer Error ->-> Recovering Memory***

  6. #6
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    4,044

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    If you have never altered the Angle unit precision, it defaults to 0.

    Therefore the angle can be plus or minus half a degree before the angle shows any different. As you have noticed, you can see any slight deviation from the x or y axis, but this deviation is smaller than half a degree, so the angle still shows as 0, 90, 180 or 270.

Similar Threads

  1. xRef/"Bind" files not showing up in plot
    By krohlfs in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 3rd Oct 2014, 06:49 pm
  2. FIELDS: Viewport scale field showing "_XREF"
    By PEGAdevelopment in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 25th Feb 2014, 04:10 pm
  3. Importing Excel data and draw lines (Data is "From" "To" ponts of Line or length
    By pvsvprasadcivil in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 28th Dec 2013, 10:37 am
  4. Want to draw a series of "X" or "l l" lines between 2 points (weld lines)
    By p0peye in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 3rd Dec 2013, 10:58 pm
  5. "Straight" is not supported on this computer
    By TheyCallMeJohn in forum AutoCAD Bugs, Error Messages & Quirks
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 28th Apr 2010, 01:08 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts