+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2014
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    28

    Default Object selection

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Can anyone please help ..

    i have a curved 3d polyline that i need to offset autocad lt 2014 wont allow me to do this unless i explode the line, the only issue is that i then have to offset hundreds of individual lines, which i can accept but then i need to select these lines created by the offset to give them a new layer//linetype, etc .. is there any way i can select the items i created on the last operation ie offset . i can do it and it selects the very last line... but am needing it to do for the whole operation .. i hope you understand what i mean ..or am i just going about this the wrong way ??

    Thanks for reading .

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    Too bad you are using LT and not full AutoCAD because I found a custom lisp routine for offsetting a 3D polyline that works.

    How many 3D polylines do you have to offset?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2014
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    28

    Default

    yeah it kinda blows about lisps not working on lt
    i have only about 3100 individual pieces !! .. .. do you know if you can offset in two directions at once .. am basically showing cable that is in ducting so needing parallel lines on both sides .. there's miles and miles of it .. if i could offset in both directions at once it would cut it down by half.. two thirds away threw now but its just in-case i come across this again ...


    thanks for your response

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    The problem, in a nutshell, is you are using LT. So that means that most of the solutions you'll come across are going to be lisp based and you can't use them.

    I was going to offer to offset the line for you but seeing how you are most of the way there I guess it's pointless.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #5
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2014
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    28

    Default

    thanks anyway ..

  6. #6
    Forum Deity steven-g's Avatar
    Computer Details
    steven-g's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7
    Discipline
    Construction
    steven-g's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Draughtsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    I work in the estimating department of a large building contractor.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    An Englishman in Belgium
    Posts
    2,043

    Default

    Would it not be possible to explode the 3dpolyline, flatten the lines, convert to polyline and join the segments, and then offset ? Providing there aren't any arc's (just straight lines) this should be an option for a macro. It's a bit unclear because you mention a curved 3dpolyline and then lines once exploded. Could you post the DWG

  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    You can PEdit a 3Dpolyline and use the Spline option on it thus creating a curved 3Dpolyline. Upon exploding it however it becomes a series of straight line segments. In a simple test I created a 10 segment 3Dpolyline. Then I applied the Spline curve option. Finally I exploded it. I now had 64 line segments.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  8. #8
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2014
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    28

    Default

    flatten is an express tool to the best of my knowledge. the 3d poly became lines after exploded .. once you join them again (without Flatten) they become a 3d poly again ..

    Thanks anyway

  9. #9
    Forum Deity steven-g's Avatar
    Computer Details
    steven-g's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7
    Discipline
    Construction
    steven-g's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Draughtsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    I work in the estimating department of a large building contractor.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    An Englishman in Belgium
    Posts
    2,043

    Default

    So long as it doesn't have arc's there is a macro that we use in LT fot flattening objects, it just gives problems with some objects (like arc's)

  10. #10
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I don't believe splines support arcs when exploded only line segments.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. Object selection
    By hessoka in forum .NET, ObjectARX & VBA
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 6th Jun 2014, 04:29 am
  2. Object selection
    By anp2012 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 30th Oct 2012, 09:17 am
  3. Object Selection-Gone Bad
    By stevedrew in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12th Sep 2012, 07:35 pm
  4. Trim selection & Object selection problem
    By Kurt Crim in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12th Aug 2011, 12:19 pm
  5. object selection
    By salman in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2nd Feb 2010, 10:18 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts