+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Senior Member Casusa's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Casusa's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer:
    Intel Core I7-4770 Cpu - 3,40 GHz
    RAM:
    4GB
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon HD 7700 Series
    Monitor:
    Asus VW246H
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Madrid
    Posts
    139

    Default All around building sheet of steel

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.



    Hi.

    Wich is the best way to do in 3D a all around building sheet of steel like the attached image.

    The plates are spaced 10 cm from the building

    Many thanks.
    Attached Images
    Last edited by Casusa; 23rd Oct 2015 at 01:07 pm. Reason: Add information.

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,503

    Default

    Are we talking corrugated sheet metal?

    What is the steel sheeting attached to?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Senior Member Casusa's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Casusa's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer:
    Intel Core I7-4770 Cpu - 3,40 GHz
    RAM:
    4GB
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon HD 7700 Series
    Monitor:
    Asus VW246H
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Madrid
    Posts
    139

    Default

    Hi.

    Sandwich panel.

    Attached to bricks.

    Attached Images

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,503

    Default

    Depends on how accurate you want to be I suppose.

    Just curious. Attached to bricks? These panels are being placed over existing brick walls?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #5
    Senior Member Casusa's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Casusa's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer:
    Intel Core I7-4770 Cpu - 3,40 GHz
    RAM:
    4GB
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon HD 7700 Series
    Monitor:
    Asus VW246H
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Madrid
    Posts
    139

    Default

    Hi ReMark.

    It doesn't require to be very accurate, but keeping the shape around the building.

    Sorry, attached to an iron structure.

    Thanks.

  6. #6
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,503

    Default

    Will you be producing renderings from the 3D model?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  7. #7
    Senior Member Casusa's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Casusa's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer:
    Intel Core I7-4770 Cpu - 3,40 GHz
    RAM:
    4GB
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon HD 7700 Series
    Monitor:
    Asus VW246H
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Madrid
    Posts
    139

    Default

    yes ReMark.

  8. #8
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,503

    Default

    I suppose you could always resort to using specific materials to give the impression of panels with a particular profile if that is of any importance to you.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  9. #9
    Senior Member Casusa's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Casusa's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer:
    Intel Core I7-4770 Cpu - 3,40 GHz
    RAM:
    4GB
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon HD 7700 Series
    Monitor:
    Asus VW246H
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Madrid
    Posts
    139

    Default

    Hi such as?

  10. #10
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,503

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Why would you be asking me? I thought you were the one who has used materials in the past. We don't bother to apply materials to our 3D models because everything we do is for in-house use. We have no "clients" but ourselves and the people most interested in the drawings have pretty good imaginations when we say a building will be brick-faced, corrugated fiberglass panels or skinned with Versawall (insulated sheet metal panels).
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. Sheet Set: Insert Sheet List Table Content Format/Template Issue
    By Cadologist in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 31st Aug 2015, 08:31 pm
  2. Long sweep steel pipe fitting schedule standard reference sheet
    By Sengna in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 13th Jan 2015, 08:06 pm
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 13th Feb 2014, 02:22 pm
  4. Steel building frame
    By Milla in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 19th Jul 2010, 01:01 am
  5. Which programs are best for building architectural building models?
    By pdxdan11 in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 26th Mar 2009, 07:31 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts