+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Computer Details
    Hydroman's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer:
    Dell
    CPU:
    Dual Xeon 16 cores
    RAM:
    64
    Graphics:
    AMD firepro4000
    Monitor:
    Dual HP 25Xi
    Discipline
    Environmental
    Hydroman's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Hydrogeologist
    Discipline
    Environmental
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3

    Angry Exported Leapfrog mesh to a solid

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi guys,

    I am new in this forum....and desperate. I have to run some tricky simulations on a software named Comsol. However, Comsol use Parasolid and IGES files. If these are not solids, it has to be a mesh, but if the mesh is not watertight, it crashes and cannot generate the solids.

    The meshes are coming from a client with software named Leapfrog and Vulcans. These are geology oriented softwares as my problems is related to geology. During the export process to a dxf, some faces looks to disconnect to the mesh. So I am trying to repair the mesh with autocad and/or 3DS max and to create the solid, to finally export to a IGS format.

    Howerver, I tried several commands in Autocad (I am not an experienced user, but a good 3D interface user of other software), to repair the mesh, and then create the solids....but no success.

    My problem is that the mesh are far to be primitive. These are very random shapes, based on geology.

    Is there a way to repair a mesh ? Consider that each mesh has 30 000 faces and I do have 15 meshes to convert....

    Hope someone could help me.

    Tks

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    10,139

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hydroman View Post
    During the export process to a dxf, some faces looks to disconnect to the mesh. So I am trying to repair the mesh with autocad and/or 3DS max and to create the solid, to finally export to a IGS format.
    This is dead simple to do in 3ds Max. Simply switch to "Border" selection mode, Window select the entire object to select all open holes, then hit the "Cap" button to seal the mesh. Then delete the disconnected faces, export to IGS format and you're done. The only problem you might run into is if there are spots where you have 2 or more adjacent faces that are missing. In that case you would need to rebuild the geometry manually, but again, that's a pretty simple thing to do.

    A better option might be to switch to "Vertex" selection mode, Window select the entire object to select all vertices and then hit the "Weld" button. This will work, assuming all the polygon faces are just disconnected, not missing. If the faces are missing then my previous suggestion would be the one to use.
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Computer Details
    Hydroman's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer:
    Dell
    CPU:
    Dual Xeon 16 cores
    RAM:
    64
    Graphics:
    AMD firepro4000
    Monitor:
    Dual HP 25Xi
    Discipline
    Environmental
    Hydroman's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Hydrogeologist
    Discipline
    Environmental
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Thanks for answering Cad64,

    However, I tried but nothing moved.....

    I exported to IGS and the file is empty, so I suppose it is not working. Would you like to get the file for a quick crosscheck ?

    Hydroman

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    10,139

    Default

    If you can post it here, or put it up on Dropbox, I'll take a look.
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  5. #5
    Forum Newbie
    Computer Details
    Hydroman's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer:
    Dell
    CPU:
    Dual Xeon 16 cores
    RAM:
    64
    Graphics:
    AMD firepro4000
    Monitor:
    Dual HP 25Xi
    Discipline
    Environmental
    Hydroman's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Hydrogeologist
    Discipline
    Environmental
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Check this out

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/kr688pyr98...yface.dxf?dl=0

    Hope you will get results......I am running out of ideas . Remember that the final goal is to create solids from there.

    Tks again

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    10,139

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I imported your dxf file into Studio Max and ran some tests on the mesh. If you go to the "Views" menu "xView" you can check for things like open edges, overlapping vertices, etc. I didn't find any trouble with those, but I did find that you have 7 overlapping faces which are shown as green in the screenshot below. You will need to fix those and then you should be able to export to IGS.

    Also, when I imported the dxf, in the Import Options, I chose to "Weld Nearby Vertices" with a Weld Threshold of 0.03". After the object imported, it was completely black which means the polygons are inverted. So I selected the object and converted it to Editable Poly. Then I switched to Polygon selection mode, window selected the entire object and clicked the "Flip" button. Once all that was done, then I ran the xView tests I mentioned previously.

    Hope that helps.
    Attached Images
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

Similar Threads

  1. Mesh to solid
    By Dmonheart in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 29th May 2014, 10:30 pm
  2. 3D solid to 3D mesh
    By nkme2007 in forum Civil 3D & LDD
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 20th Jan 2013, 02:37 pm
  3. Add a mesh to a 3D Solid?
    By CromCruithne in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 3rd Feb 2007, 03:11 am
  4. m2s Mesh-to-Solid
    By CADTutor in forum Application Archive
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 7th May 2004, 06:26 pm
  5. 3d mesh To Solid?
    By John Dory in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 29th Apr 2004, 10:51 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts