+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 31
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    14

    Unhappy FloorPlan appears very small on Paper when printed and i need help correcting this..

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi all, i am new to AutoCad and as the subject has mentioned, i cant seem to find anyway to correct the size of the plan it appears on the paper. Played around with scales but my it does not work at all.. i Have to submit in a day's time and really need help asap!

  2. #2
    Forum Deity rkent's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkent's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN7 PRO 64bit
    Computer:
    Dell OptiPlex 7020
    CPU:
    i7 4790 3.6GHz
    RAM:
    16GB, 1600MHz, DDR3 non-ECC 2x8GB
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon 2GB
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung 480Gb SSD
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" FS (2x)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    rkent's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Facilities Design - Semi-conductor manufacturing
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Designer: Process Piping, P&ID's, Machine Part Design, Planning / General Arrangement. Facilities Management. Drafting: Electrical, Controls, Architectural.
    Using
    Mechanical 2017
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lat:35, Long:-106, Elev: 5164'
    Posts
    4,574

    Default

    What size paper are you using? What are the overall dimensions of your floorplan? Indicate if you are drawing in imperial feet and inches, or metric mm, cm, M.
    Sometimes there's a man... I won't say a hero, 'cause, what's a hero? But sometimes, there's a man. And I'm talkin' about the Dude here. Sometimes, there's a man, well, he's the man for his time and place. He fits right in there. And that's the Dude, in Los Angeles. - The Stranger, The Big Lebowski

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    14

    Default

    i dont know the exact dimensions as i merely drew straight away. they are in mm though..

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    14

    Default

    i am using A4 paper

  5. #5
    Forum Deity rkent's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkent's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN7 PRO 64bit
    Computer:
    Dell OptiPlex 7020
    CPU:
    i7 4790 3.6GHz
    RAM:
    16GB, 1600MHz, DDR3 non-ECC 2x8GB
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon 2GB
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung 480Gb SSD
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" FS (2x)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    rkent's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Facilities Design - Semi-conductor manufacturing
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Designer: Process Piping, P&ID's, Machine Part Design, Planning / General Arrangement. Facilities Management. Drafting: Electrical, Controls, Architectural.
    Using
    Mechanical 2017
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lat:35, Long:-106, Elev: 5164'
    Posts
    4,574

    Default

    Go into modelspace, start the DI command, pick a point to the left of your floor plan, then pick a point to the right of your floor plan. What is the X length?

    Go into paperspace, start the DI command, pick a point to the left of your title block, then pick a point to the right of the title block. What is the X length?
    Sometimes there's a man... I won't say a hero, 'cause, what's a hero? But sometimes, there's a man. And I'm talkin' about the Dude here. Sometimes, there's a man, well, he's the man for his time and place. He fits right in there. And that's the Dude, in Los Angeles. - The Stranger, The Big Lebowski

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    14

    Default

    x is 49.99
    y is 24.97 These are for my floorplans

    x is 97
    y is 74 These are for the block title

  7. #7
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,680

    Default

    Why is your floor plan only 50 mm in modelspace?
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  8. #8
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,680

    Default

    To speed this up, post the drawing here.

    The first thing you need to do, to post a drawing file, is to make sure the .dwg file is less than one megabyte.

    Second thing, click the Go Advanced button at the lower right corner of the posting window.

    Now type your message in the post window, and click on the paperclip icon on the message window. This will bring up the attachment manager.

    Click the Add Files button, then the Choose File button.

    Browse to and select your file.

    Now hit the Upload button on the attachment manager.

    When the file finishes uploading, hit the Done button.

    Then, click Submit Reply.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    14

    Default

    i simply drew a rectangle and then created some other things within it and when i went to the preview section, i realised it was extremely tiny on the paper

  10. #10
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,680

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Did you draw the floor plan using measurements/units at full size in modelspace.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

Similar Threads

  1. Changing the size of paper for printed drawing
    By Vagulus in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 9th Jun 2014, 04:53 am
  2. Black region appears in paper space...
    By Gjay001 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2nd May 2013, 03:39 pm
  3. text in paper space appears very thick and solid
    By Dale Bechtel in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 6th Dec 2007, 04:56 pm
  4. 'Colored' Text appears feint when printed?
    By Ste1978 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 20th Jun 2007, 01:21 pm
  5. paper too small message
    By C4dm0nk3y in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 28th Mar 2005, 06:50 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts